Skip to content

So why is this called 5K to Marathon?

March 27, 2009

Nike Women’s Marathon: San Francisco, CA

Just a little blurb, just in case you aren’t familar with the race –
On October 18th, 2009, thousands of runners will rendezvous in the scenic streets of San Francisco for the sixth annual Nike Women’s Marathon. A favorite amongst many runners, this year’s race promises to be another hit! Every detail of the Nike Women’s Marathon has been planned with women in mind. Here are just a few of the highlights: Official finisher necklace designed by Tiffany & Co., 100% recycled Nike Dri-FIT Finisher T-shirt in women’s sizes (unique to full and half participants), Three-day interactive Expotique in Union Square, Breathtaking course starting in Union Square and ending along the Pacific Ocean, Extraordinary on-course support and entertainment, Post-race celebration at the finish line including free massages, food, music and more. (Taken from the Nike.com site)

H, my co-worker, told me about this race when we first starting running and how cool it would be since the “medal” is a Tiffany’s necklace presented to you by a very handsome firefighter wearing a tuxedo. As amazing as it sounded, I put it out of my mind since I could barely run for five minutes at a time without panting like a dog when I was finished.

Several weeks pass since my conversation with H and about a week before C and I ran in our 5K, the Nike Women’s Marathon opened for registration. It wasn’t really registration since you had to put your name in to a random drawing for selection, but I digress. It was open and now that I could actually run all of three miles and feel pretty good, I was seriously considering entering the drawing. I mean, seriously, it was a random drawing and the liklihood of being choosen was slim to none as far as I was concerned. I decided to email H and my friend, S, from graduate school to see if they would be interested in forming a group to enter the drawing. Both agreed, an email was sent out to more interested parties, and we ended up with a group of seven women who decided to take a chance with us. Five of us decided to “go big or go home” and registered for the full marathon (Seriously, 26.2 miles? What was I thinking?!) while two others decided to register for the half marathon (13.1 but still nothing to laugh at!). We wait patiently, or not so patiently in my case, for March 18th to arrive and for registration to close. It came and the magical powers that be began selecting people.

While I was on my way home from work Friday 3.20, K sent me a text message saying that her card was charged for the entrance fee of the race. She wanted to know if I had received an email from Nike about being selected since it was my email address that we used as our group id. I’d been checking my email several times a day (obsessive, I know) since the registration ended to see if we would get the coveted email saying we were in, but I hadn’t received anything. However, according to the Nike FAQ’s, that I’d read 100s of times, your card would only be charged if you were selected. H was in her car behind me, so I called her to see if she had heard anything or received anything, but she hadn’t either. When I got home I checked my credit card, but the charge was just “authorizing”. I figured that it was just something that they did with everyone who entered so I was cautiously optimistic, but decided to put it out of my mind.

Sunday night (3.22) I got another text from K saying that the money had been completely deducted from her account. Meaning they took the money and it was no longer just “authorizing”, it was gone. Meaning that we were in…but we still didn’t get an email or anything else notifying us of our selection. Still optimistic, but really in denial. I did some research online and read the FAQs for the 1000th time and saw that they only authorize and charge people who are selected…seriously!

Monday morning (3.23) I arrive at work and run to H’s classroom and we squeal a bit WE ARE GOING TO SAN FRANCISCO TO RUN A MARATHON! EEEEEE! Okay, maybe it wasn’t quite like that, but it was close! For the rest of the week it’s been a bit of a daze, still no confirmation from Nike, but on-line hunting told me that there is quite a lag in time between the powers-that-be charging the cards and the official confirmation email.

So there you have it; the story of how we were selected for the Nike Women’s Marathon and how I am running a marathon in October!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. That Pink Girl permalink
    March 29, 2009 5:27 pm

    Yay for you! The Nike Women’s Marathon is an awesome race – so well put together and a GREAT cause! You are going to love it!!!

  2. on my way, or "tri"ing to be permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:07 pm

    ok so where do yoou sign up or register to hopefully get picked to run this race, because it sounds like a great time!

Leave a Reply

