Skip to content

Hot and humid…welcome to Florida!

March 28, 2009

Since I only ran on Tuesday this week I knew I was going to have to run today and tomorrow to get my “three runs per week” in. I don’t really enjoy back-to-back runs, but if I slack during the week it must be done.

C and I ran at 10:30am and it was already HOT. Okay, maybe not hot, but it was 75 degrees with 77% humidity. YUCK! It was really windy since we are supposed to get some nasty weather later today, and that always adds a bit of difficulty to a run. It was a short run day, so I set my Nike+ to 3.1 miles and we were off.

The first mile was rough and my shins were hurting a bit. I pressed on and ate two Clif Shot Bloks at the half way point. By mile two I was nice and warmed up. Literally. I know that people say that you don’t really need hydration/nutrition on short runs, but I was sweating like nothing else, so I was glad that I had decided to bring along my Camelbak. Yes, I run with a Camelbak. I’m a dork, I know, but I simply refuse to run with a Fuel Belt/waist pack/etc. because I’m not going to fight it riding up while I run. I started to feel the Shot Bloks kick in and I was able to up my pace a bit and it felt great. When my little Nike+ told me I had completed my work out, I was super happy because at this point I was a sweaty mess – even my shins were sweating!

Since I’m “training but not training” for the marathon in October, I’m following the Galloway Method and running 3 min./walking 1 min. I realize I should be able to run three miles without a problem, but it’s so nice to have that walk break to just BREATHE, relax and blow my nose. With this method, I notice that my time is just a little bit slower than if I were to run the whole thing. I am able to have a stronger run at the end, where I’d normally be ready to fall over. I’m not fast, by any means, but today I noticed that I cut 15 seconds off of my last run time. I’ll take it!

Today’s stats –
Distance: 3.1 miles
Time: 36’24”
Pace: 11:46 min/mile

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point permalink
    March 28, 2009 2:05 pm

    thanks for visiting my blog and your sweet comment 🙂

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    March 29, 2009 1:46 am

    You’re going to have to get used to the heat! We’ll have to start training in June and continue through the hot summer months. Plan on some early mornings this summer.

  3. Denise permalink
    March 29, 2009 7:17 am

    That’s cute what you said about driving people nuts w/ your new obsession. I KNOW I drive my husband insane, esp since he isn’t a runner. Blogging is a great way to connect to other runners. You’ll definitely make it to that marathon!

Leave a Reply

