Skip to content

New Kicks

April 1, 2009

As much as I love my Mizunos, I noticed that they have become increasingly more uncomfortable during my runs, especially as I’ve been adding more miles. The other day when I wore them they literally rubbed my poor pinky toe raw and I knew that they just weren’t going to cut it.

Tonight C and I decided to go to Jacksonville Running Company for a proper fitting (even though our other pair was professionally fitted too, by another company) and gait analysis. The store was small and they’ve only been open 7 weeks but I really think they are going to do well. I can’t remember the names of the two gentlemen who helped us, but they were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. The process stared with a digital foot analysis for information about arch type, length, and width of our feet. Then they gave us shoes to try on, put us on a treadmill, and videotaped our run. It was pretty neat to see how we ran, although I felt really silly at the same time.

I narrowed my choice down to two pairs of shoes when the helper guy brought out the most amazing shoes I’ve ever felt on my feet – Brooks Glycerin 7. They felt glorious! It was literally like having little clouds on my feet. The pair that I tried on were a full size bigger than I normally wear, which was perfect and very roomy down by my toes. I can’t wait for it to stop raining so I can take them out for a run!

Ironically, C also ended up with a pair of Brooks. He decided on the Brooks Defyance 2.

Happy running!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:14 am

    Yay for new kicks! I just LOVE my Brooks Trance!

  2. KK @ Running Through Life permalink
    April 2, 2009 6:14 pm

    Yay! Properly fitted shoes make ALL the difference. Happy running!

  3. Tim Taylor permalink
    April 5, 2009 12:05 pm

    Maybe I should find a store to check my feets out too. I got a pair of asics gel trail sensor 2’s, which were so comfy when new, but alas, feel pooh the more miles I run.

  4. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    April 6, 2009 9:00 pm

    I wear the Brooks Glycerine…and Matt wears the Brooks Defynace! We both switch back and forth with Asics…there’s a reason why those companies are #1 and #2 in the running shoe market.

Leave a Reply

