Skip to content

Trying out the Garmin

April 4, 2009

I spent a majority of Thursday evening playing with my new Garmin, but I could not figure out how to get it to do intervals AND show the pace/distance/time screen. There are so many things the little guy can do, it’s a bit overwhelming!

Friday afternoon C and I decided to take our dog, Bradley, for a walk since it had finally stopped raining and was just beautiful outside. I also wanted to try out the Garmin to see how it’s accuracy was and to see if I could figure out the interval stuff, which I didn’t. While it was big on my wrist, it wasn’t heavy. However, I was pretty surprised at the amount of sweat that started to develop under the darn thing!

This morning I was determined to go for a run since it had been a few days since I last went and my shins were feeling better. I decided to take it easy and went for a very slow 3 mile run. It was lovely! While I was out I finally figured out how to get the two screens that I wanted, just by playing with the buttons. Go figure! I also got to try out my new Brooks Glycerin, which I really like. I’m still getting used to them being so big since I went up a whole size to accommodate my swelling feet on my long runs.

Since I was taking the run slow and easy, I realized why my shins had been bothering me. It was a classic case of “too much, too soon”. While I’m still uncertain of the accuracy of my Nike+, it usually put my running pace between a 10:30-11:30 min/mile (and with the walking it was more around a 12 min/mile). Today, using the Garmin, I comfortably ran between a 12:30-13:30 min/mile and I wasn’t pushing myself like I have been.

It was during today’s run that I had a bit of an epiphany. Since I’ve only been running for four months, I don’t really feel like I can call myself a runner. I’m not sure why, but it feels like I have to have been running for a certain number of years, run at a certain pace, or have competed in a certain number of races to be “real”. However, I’ve read quite a few blogs and know that I’m not the only one who struggles with this concept. I’m not really sure how that makes me feel, either. All I know is I’m enjoying my journey…and I’m not giving up any time soon!

What do you think it means to be a runner? Do you consider yourself one?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim Taylor permalink
    April 5, 2009 12:00 pm

    I am a runner, because I, err, Run!

  2. KK @ Running Through Life permalink
    April 6, 2009 7:05 pm

    It took me a long time to consider myself a runner. I think I now see myself as a runner since running has become a huge part of my life and week!

Leave a Reply

