Skip to content

Great run and product review

April 6, 2009

Today’s run
When I woke up this morning the weather looked like it wasn’t going to cooperate with my plans for a run today. Luckily, the weather decided to clear up and it was a beautiful, although incredibly windy day. I ran a few errands, took a nap and then set out for a run.

It was a lovely four mile run, the kind that reminds me why I started running and why I enjoy it so much. I still took it slow since my shins are feeling better and I didn’t want to irritate them again. I ate shot bloks (Margarita with salt) about 25 minutes in and the next two over the next thirty minutes. After mile three my feet must have started swelling because I had to loosen and re-tie my laces. Then the ball of my foot started to cramp up a bit, but I ran through it and stretched it during my walk breaks.

When I got home I was a super sweaty mess! I think the humidity must have increased while I was finishing my run. I stretched a little, but probably not enough since my shins are hurting a little bit again. I’m going to hope that it’s just my body adjusting to my new shoes. Yeah, that’s it 🙂

Today’s stats –
Distance: 4 miles
Time: 57’52”
Pace: 13:44’/mi (3:1 run/walk)

Product review – Under Armour Women’s Shaper Sports Bra
I really dislike shopping for sports bras. I can try on pants/capri’s/shirts galore, but I HATE trying to find a sports bra that can to do what it’s supposed to without being completely uncomfortable. I usually run with two sports bras on but since the summer is approaching, despite the weird weather the last week or so, the last thing that I want is more layers. I was determined to find something that worked. I FOUND IT! The UA Shaper Sports Bra is FREAKING AWESOME! I think it works so well because they have different cup sizes and the way that the back is made seems to provide different support for different sized women, which is really nice. I’m secretly cursing my body because UA seems to make a lot of products that work well for my body shape, but they are certainly NOT cheap!
I give this product FIVE running shoes
(Cheesy, I know. I also wanted to download a cute little shoe graphic, but my mac isn’t cooperating with me right now!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    April 7, 2009 12:55 am

    Okay there’s a margarita flavored shot block? Or were you being funny? I don’t really like alcohol enough to have that be my fuel on the run, I don’t think.And, next time I look for a sports bra, I’ll have to given UA a try. I always shy away cause of the price tag too! I love their new tees that say “athletes run”. Very cool.

  2. SweetPea permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:28 am

    Kelly – There really is a margarita (with salt, even!) flavored shot blok. It doesn’t really taste like a margarita, but it does have like 3x the normal amount of salt as regular shot bloks. The store that I buy my fuel from doesn’t have a big selection so I don’t have a lot of choices 🙂

  3. Laura permalink
    April 7, 2009 1:30 pm

    Did you find the bloks were effective? I really dislike the gels thus far as I just can’t take in what I am supposed to – sucking through 2 gels is about all I can handle and that is not enough.

  4. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    April 8, 2009 8:35 pm

    Your new bra looks a lot like what I finally started wearing last fall – It’s the CW-X xtra support. The “running store lady” finally talked me into trying one on (I hesitated cuz they looked so grandma-y) saying she hasn’t chaffed since she started wearing them…and once I started running 8+ miles I was severely chaffing under the cup (despite ample amount of Body Glide). Hope you like the new bra! Oh, she also gave me advice that every time you replace your shoes, it’s time for a new bra too.

  5. SweetPea permalink
    April 8, 2009 10:15 pm

    Sharon – I saw the CW-X sports bras in Runner’s World and thought that they would also be good. They didn’t sell them at Dicks, where I got the UA one, but I’ll have to try it out. Thanks for the tips 🙂

Leave a Reply

