Skip to content

A hot and sweaty six mile run

April 11, 2009

Today’s run was agony. I didn’t sleep well last night (Bradley couldn’t get comfortable, SEVEN trains went by, it was hot, C’s brother came home and took a shower at like 3am) so I was tired before we even started. I also really need to learn that if I’m not BACK from my run at 9am then I need to wait until the evening to go.

C and I ate a banana and split an oatmeal raisin Clif Bar and were out the door at 10am. We decided to run on flat ground today since we were just going for distance and didn’t really need the extra challenge of a bridge. We pulled into the parking lot and crossed the street to the walk/run/bike path not too far from C’s parent’s house. We did our warm-up walk and started running. About half a mile into the run C’s shins started bothering him so he decided to walk the remainder of the time. I was bummed to have lost my running buddy, but I really wanted to get in my six miles today. I started out at a great pace, but the sun was out full force and I started getting REALLY sweaty and overheated very quickly. At mile 2 I took a strawberry banana PowerBar gel and I didn’t even feel it kick in. I was cramping up a bit and was really wishing that I had some margarita shot bloks, because even though I don’t think they do much at restoring my energy, they really do help with the cramping because of the extra salt that they have.

I was really struggling at mile three and when I hit 3.5 I had a little break down. Seriously. I felt so defeated because I was totally sucking and had barely done three miles. I cried a little bit out of frustration, took off my Camelbak and stretched for a bit. I put another gel into the pouch on my chest strap, took a big swig of water and decided to change up my music. Usually Britney Spears and other boy bands or hip hop can pull me out of my funk, but they weren’t doing it for me today. Since I had my ipod with all of my music on it I decided to put on Jeremy Camp, my favorite Christian singer. The song Trust in You came on and I knew that I would be able to make it.

Here is my favorite part of the song, which totally “spoke” to me today:
When the darkness is close at hand
And I‘m running against the wind
I will trust in you and I will not be afraid.
When I’m standing upon that shore
All the battles I’ve gone before
I will trust in you, and I will not be afraid.

I know that I have a lot of time to train before the marathon in October, but there are days when I run and I struggle with even two or three miles. I get so discouraged and I truly wonder how I’m going to be able to do 26.2. Then, a wee little voice whispers in my ear and tells me to have faith. That while I can’t do it alone, I CAN DO IT, but I have to trust myself and more importantly trust in God.

Once I was listening to Jeremy Camp I felt so much better. I told myself to just listen to the music and listen for the “beep, beep” of my Garmin for when I should run and when I should walk. At 4.5 I decided to take a vanilla GU and felt that kick in a few minutes later. It was my first time using GU and I think I like the thinner consistency that it has compared to PowerBar, which has the consistency of eating frosting out of a tube. As I got to mile 5, I was back to the car and saw C waiting for me. He snapped a few pictures, which I thought were kind of neat since I’ve never had “action shots” before, even if they are from far away.

I knew I had a little further to go, so I trucked along until I finally finished. It was a hard run, but I’m proud of myself for pushing through to the end. I did it!

Today’s stats
Time – 1:28:57 (I was determined to make it under an hour and a half!)
Distance – 6.00 miles
Pace – 14:50’/mile

4 Comments leave one →
  1. loebs3 permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:07 pm

    I’m so proud of you!

  2. teacherwoman permalink
    April 11, 2009 6:14 pm

    Nice job on your 6-miler! Wahoo!

  3. brandyleonard permalink
    April 11, 2009 10:16 pm

    You are awesome!

  4. Kelly permalink
    April 12, 2009 3:12 pm

    Sounds like an awesome 6miles. Isn’t it great when you officially have “long runs”. Don’t you just want to tell everyone about them? Way to go!

Leave a Reply

