Skip to content

Relay for Life and a painful 2 miles

April 27, 2009

Hi all! It’s been a while, but since I decided to take the week off from running to help my shins feel better I didn’t really have too much to say. I did miss blogging though so if I take another running break I’m still going to try and blog about running related stuff.

While I wasn’t running last week we were super busy! We had my school’s second annual talent show on Thursday night (so awesome!) and then the National Junior Honor Society chapter that I co-sponsor had Relay for Life on Saturday. I’d never attended a Relay before, but it was incredible and I can’t wait to do it again next year! Needless to say I was exhausted when we got home on Sunday (C participated too!) and I think I have somewhat of an idea of how my body will feel after the marathon. Yikes!

Even though I was tired tonight, I knew that I really needed to get in a run. My shins were feeling better from my week of rest but my calves (especially my right one) were really tight from all of the walking at Relay (a group of kids and I walked 10 miles!) and an hour of Zumba (I’m totally hooked!) so I was a little worried about how they would hold up. Go figure, as soon as I started running my shins started hurting.

Since I was trying to ease into running again, I decided to go with 60 second runs with 90 second walks for 2 miles (basically couch to 5K week 1). By the end I was tired, probably because I was running too fast, and my shins hurt. Great. I did notice that while my right shin hurt, my calf didn’t. Perhaps more reason to believe that there is some truth to the “tight muscles can cause shin splints” and that it’s the overall cause to my pain. If it’s not that than the only two other things it can be are 1) I’m still wearing the wrong shoes and I need something with more support because I am a pronator rather than neutral or 2) a stress fracture. Heck maybe it’s even a combo of all three.

I have been wearing my A-Line insoles and my shins do feel better while I’m walking but after the first mile and a half I can feel them in my shoes while I’m running. Maybe I should take them out and see if I still have shin pain while I run without them. Ugh! I feel like there are so many different things that could be causing the pain and it’s just so frustrating! I guess the first thing that I really need to do is go and see my doctor to rule out the stress fracture. After that it’s just a matter of finding what works.

I just want to run, darn it!

Today’s run stats
Distance:
2 miles
Time: 25’23”
Pace: 12:43 min/mile (1 min run/90 sec walk)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    April 27, 2009 7:58 pm

    Stretch stretch stretch! That should help a lot! And you’re on the right track by resting a bit!

  2. Kelly permalink
    April 28, 2009 10:26 am

    Nice run. Doesn’t it feel good to move again? I’m looking forward to Relay for Life this year too, ours is in June though. Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

