Skip to content

Holy hot, Batman!

May 16, 2009

C and I were up at our usual time yesterday morning and I was thisclose to just turning off the alarm and going to back to sleep in our warm and cozy bed. It felt like a long week and the last thing we were looking forward to was the RITA Cash 5K this morning. Yes, I realize that it’s only 3 miles (ha!) but neither of us were feelin’ it. I knew that we had to run today anyway, so we rallied and made it to the race location about a half hour before it started. I wasn’t super familar with the area and if they didn’t have “race parking here” signs we would have gotten pretty turned around. The race was in a corporate park with LOTS of trees that we would be very thankful for during the run.

In the parking lot before the race

While we were stretching and getting ready for the race to begin they had music playing to get us pumped up and different running clubs had their tents set up. There was also a RITA tent and I finally figured out what it ment – Research Is The Answer: Caring and Sharing Hope for pancreatic and breast cancer (I thought it was a woman – ha!).

At 8am the mini-cannon went off and the people in front of us started running. I noticed right away that the pace the group was running at was significantly faster than what I’m used to. Instead of running my usual 2:1 run/walk I thought I could play with the “big kids” and just run. Ha! I made it about a half mile before I had to walk and decided that I was just going to do my 2:1 for the remainder of the run. I’m so thankful that the run was mostly in the shade because it was 91 degrees! Holy hot, batman!

I was able to break my previous 5K time by a minute – yea! I think I could have done better if I stuck with my usual 2:1 but ran faster during the running time than when I run during training.

Super sweaty after the race

Stats-
Time: 37’31”
Distance: 3.1 miles
I forgot to stop my Garmin when I crossed the finish line, so my time and pace are off. I got these results from the website.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    May 17, 2009 11:09 pm

    Nice job on the race! 🙂

  2. FLYERS26 permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:21 pm

    Nice Job.. Never give up!

Trackbacks

  1. One year « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

