Skip to content

Rain and (not) running

May 23, 2009

It has rained non-stop every day since last Saturday and I’m not talking about a light drizzle – I’m talking about POURING rain for the last week. Not such great weather for running.

This morning there was finally a break and even a little bit of blue sky so before we ate breakfast, C and I went for a short two mile run. It felt so great to get out there running again! We were booking it for the first mile and I really had to push myself to finish strong. I really need to learn to just relax and settle into a comfortable pace and focus on completing the distance rather than how fast/slow I’m running. Slow and steady is how I’m going to finish the marathon in October and I need to remember that!

Today’s stats:
Time – 24:01
Distance – 2 miles
Pace – 12:02’/mile (2:1 run/walk)

In my next blog post I’m going to talk a little bit more about Weight Watchers and how it, along with running, has helped me lose weight and adopt a much healthier lifestyle in general.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    May 24, 2009 1:11 pm

    Have you tried leaving the watch at home? It totally helps me to relax and I find runs more enjoyable when I don’t have any timing device. I HAVE to listen to my body…which sometimes says I can go faster and sometimes it says to back off. Also, on days I really don’t want to go out, I tell myself I can go as slow as I want as long as I go, and before I’m half-way through I’m totally into the run. In the end, you have no results to report, but as long as I have enough time to shower for work, I figure I was moving okay.

  2. SweetPea permalink
    May 24, 2009 1:57 pm

    You’re totally right, Sharon. I *try* not to focus on how fast I’m going and when I’m pacing myself the Garmin really helps. It’s more when I’m *not* paying attention to my pace that I get into trouble! I do love the “deal” that you make with yourself if you don’t want to go out- such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

