Skip to content

Treadmills, hills and running skirts, Oh my!

June 1, 2009

This past week C and I traveled to NJ/NY for his cousin’s wedding. We were left on Thursday and arrived back in Florida after an hour delay Sunday evening. While I didn’t make as good of food choices as I could have, C and I did actually keep up our running and finished the week with 13 total miles. Not a ton, but much more than the weeks prior and it felt great!

Our flight got in to White Plains, NY around 1pm and drove to our hotel in Mahwah, NJ. I was pretty sleepy from the dramamine I took to make it through the flight without getting airsick, so I curled up in bed and took a three hour nap! Once C’s parents, brother K, and his girlfriend A, arrived we headed downstairs for dinner and then back to the room (which was a suite and very nice to have separate rooms!) to relax for a little while. Around 8:30pm I rallied and decided to hit up the gym in the hotel to get my miles in. C managed to rally K and A and they came along with us. I stretched a bit and then ran three miles straight on the treadmill! I haven’t used a treadmill to train at all and I was really surprised to see that it was much easier to run compared to running outside. I took a few walk breaks and made it to four miles before deciding to stop.

E and D’s wedding was on Friday, which left Saturday to get in our long run before heading out to C’s Aunt’s house in NY for a post-wedding brunch. I was a little nervous because the area of NJ that we were in was very hilly but it was a beautiful day out and off we went! The first mile or so of our run was completely up hill and it was tough! The good thing about hills, though, is that after going up you have to go back down and that part was much easier! About 2.5 miles into our run we came to Darlington County Park and decided to check it out. The scenery was nice and it was even nicer to stop to go to the bathroom and put some water on my face since it was starting to get pretty warm out. Turns out that we were supposed to pay to go in there, but since there wasn’t a sign indicating that we didn’t know. No wonder the people were looking at us like we were doing something wrong, lol!

Stats:
Time – 1:22:35
Distance – 6 miles
Pace – 13:46’/mile

C and I took today off from wor,k, which I was so thankful for. I slept in and we had a nice breakfast before C went to the grocery store and I caught up reading all of the blog posts that I missed while we were gone. I took a nap and when I woke up we went for a short, two mile run. I decided to try out my running skirt again, since I’m about 10 pounds lighter than the last time I wore it. It was much more comfortable this time, so I’ll be adding it into the rotation which will be nice as the temperature continues to climb during the summer. All-in-all it was a great run and it was nice to be back to our normal running spot. I must admit that I missed the challenge of the hills which is good since I’m going to start incorporating bridges into my long runs to prepare for San Francisco.

Stats:
Time – 24:29
Distance – 2 miles
Pace – 12:15’/mile

One Comment leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    June 4, 2009 10:52 pm

    You didn't get to catch up on my blog since I am SOOOOOO behind in blogging, but I do thoroughly enjoy reading yours! I don't train much on a treadmill either, and I know it's slightly easier so you should always add a little incline, but it is good for training your body to hold a pace. Congrats on the 10 lbs (I would like to do the same)!

Leave a Reply

