Skip to content

A thoughtful two miles

June 4, 2009

When it started raining buckets this afternoon I started to doubt that I would be able to get my run in tonight. Not that it would be the end of the world because I’ve had to move running days around before, but I found myself incredibly cranky, moody and tired and knew that I was going to have to find a way to get out there. We only have four more days of school left, although tomorrow is a field trip to Sea World Orlando, so I know that the stress of the year ending and the craziness of the students is really starting to get to me.

I was super excited when the rain stopped and even though it was 8:30pm I laced up my shoes, complete with my new insoles that finally arrived from the New Balance store this afternoon, and took off! The run felt awesome and I was totally jamming out to my new running mix and just enjoying being out on the road. I wasn’t super excited with the squeeky sound that my shoes were making with the insoles in there, but I’m hoping that once they are broken in they won’t make that awful noise any more.

As I finished up my run and was walking home I felt really emotional about how far I’ve come since I started running in December. I am so thankful that my body is healthy and strong enough to run. Sure, I still have a long way to go but I’m very happy with the progress that I’m making and all the excitement, joy and frustration that goes along with it.

Stats:
Distance- 2 miles
Time- 23:39
Pace- 11:50’/mile (2:1 run/walk)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:39 pm

    Nice! Way to get out there despite being tired and cranky. Those are usually my better runs, when I don't really feel like going. Congrats on your progress.

  2. Jennie permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:12 am

    It's Jennie here. I'm so proud of you! You have really encouraged me. I've been jogging for 2 1/2 years now and I just yesterday hit 3 miles!! of continuous jogging. So i felt pretty lacking in the progress department but I know I need to look at things in a different perspective as well. I will continue to read your blog. I really enjoy it and I'll be praying for you as well. I miss you! I'll write an email instead of taking upa post. haha.

Leave a Reply

