Skip to content

A sweaty run without the Garmin

June 6, 2009

Yea for the weekends! Even though last week only consisted of three working days for me (Monday we took off to decompress from our NY/NJ trip and Friday was the 7th grade field trip to Sea World) it was pretty tedious since we are down to the last few days of the school year and the students are just getting crazy.

I had a busy day today and of course rain was in the forecast for nearly the entire afternoon and evening so I set my alarm, which I hate doing on Saturday, to get up and get my run in. I was up by 7am and out the door by 7:30. Unfortunately my Garmin beeped that the battery was low and died before I even made it .5 miles! It wouldn’t have been that bad, but today was my “long” run of five miles and I wasn’t really sure how far out I had to go before coming back AND since I train using intervals I didn’t have the trusty beep-beep-beep of the watch telling me when to walk and when to run. Needless to say, I had to guesstimate how far and how long I was out but I am pretty sure that I got in my miles. I did actually enjoy running and completely listening to my body rather than the beeping of the Garmin telling me when to run or walk. Don’t get me wrong, when I need a walk break I take it, but it was just different today.

It was super hot and sweat was literally dripping off of me. I was so glad that I decided to bring along my Camelbak because I know I would have been struggling without it. Seriously, even after my shower I was sweating! I was out a bit longer than I anticipated, since I really should have been out the door at 7 not rolling out of bed, so I had to get ready in a hurry and the sweat made it a bit difficult to try and get myself together quickly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meganerd permalink
    June 7, 2009 8:27 pm

    Hey! Thanks for checking out my blog šŸ™‚

    I used to do the same thing before i had the garmin. šŸ™‚ I had to drive around and then that didn't always work becuase I would go places cars can't go… ugh. I don't know how i ever lived without it!!

    Where in FL do you live?

  2. Jennie permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:47 am

    What type of a garmin do you have? iS it specifically for jogging so that it tells you whent to walk/run? I'm confused. haha. I'm sure a garmin wouldn't work where i am in the boonies. šŸ™‚ Fortunately the land is your mile markers sense it is all sectioned off by half miles, quarter mile and whole miles pretty convenient for me but i'd still like to really be sure of it on an electronic scale.

Leave a Reply

