Skip to content

Three miles and yet another 5K

June 8, 2009

Today was like any other Florida day from May-September, bright and sunny in the morning and then pouring rain in the afternoon. Lovely. You think I’d be used to it, being a native Floridian and all, but apparently I think I can fool myself into hoping that one afternoon will be just as sunny as when I wake up. Needless to say, these rainy afternoon make it a bit difficult to get my training runs in since there is no way that I’m getting up earlier than I have to (5:30 – okay, okay 6am by the time I hit the snooze button a few times!) at least for the two days until I’m free of my job until August!

Don’t be fooled though, since the entire month of June I’m participating in workshops and finishing up the last two classes that I need to complete my gifted endorsement to be certified to teach the lovely gifted children that I have in my science classes. July will be filled with lots of traveling, and even more importantly my birthday! Yea! Last year I spent my 28th birthday with 12 of my co-workers in the Newark airport because our flight was delayed nearly three hours because of air traffic. We spent a few days in Princeton, NJ at yet another training (I told you my summers are filled with them!) but it was a lovely trip and my wonderful co-workers made me feel special by purchasing a NY picture frame and singing “Happy Birthday” loudly in the airport. This year will be different…I will be spending my birthday with thousands of my “closest” friends at Walt Disney World, lol!

Anyway enough rambling, which I certainly have a tendency to do so please bare with me! I left the house around 5:30pm among incredibly dark clouds and I seriously thought that there was no way that I was going to make it through my short, three mile run without a drop of rain on me. Wrong! I actually made it the entire way without a single drop of rain, yet I was completely soaked from sweat because it was so hot and humid. Even worse was that when I returned to my subdivision and went to the bushes where I hid a bottle of G2 as I went out on my run, I found that it was missing – SOMEONE TOOK MY GLORIOUS BOTTLE OF G2! Oh I was mad! I mean, really? Really? Who takes a perfectly full, unopened bottle of G2?!

Stats:
Distance- 3 miles
Time- 38:18
Pace- 12:47’/mile**
**I ran the first mile in 11:38 so this tells me that I’m running the first mile way too fast and I’m totally tuckering out by the end

When I got home C and I started on dinner which I was super excited for! I was craving burgers and fries so we made Gardenburger black bean chipotle patties, that we got from Whole Foods yesterday, with cheese, sauteed onions and peppers and sweet potato fries. I also decided to try the Imagine Organic Potato Leek soup that we bought yesterday too. Everything was so good! We usually buy the Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burgers because our Publix doesn’t sell the Gardenburger version, but I’m totally hooked and it’s only 1 point per patty! Yummy!

After dinner I decided to have some dessert and indulge in some cookies that a student gave me today as an end of the year present. I love presents! These are “no bake oatmeal cookies” and are seriously my favorite kind. Yum! I washed it down with 1/2 c. of almond breeze which I really liked. It had a different flavor than I’m used to with soymilk, and C actually thought it was similar to drinking popcorn, lol.

I actually only had one of the cookies because I was happy with the taste and it was just the right amount of chocolat-y goodness.

This Saturday I signed us up for yet another 5K race called Run for the Pies (great name, eh?). This is actually a night race and has two parts – the first is the championship 5K and the second is for everyone else. C and I are most certainly in the “second” category, and neither of us run fast enough to actually win a pie, but it sounds like a lot of fun.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:55 am

    I miss good veggie burgers!! The stores in these small towns don't sell them. I can get them in the states if i want but that's a 45min drive ;( I think they sell them in "the city" which is 1 1/2 hours away. But I love the Garden berger brand and they don't have them. oh well.

  2. Juli and Dave permalink
    June 9, 2009 10:45 pm

    I am a fan of almond milk- although I like the sugar loaded vanilla or chocolate one 🙂

  3. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:32 pm

    You're black bean pattie topped with cheese inspired my lunch today…but that was 2.5 hours ago and now I'm sooooo hungry! Do you get hungry? How do you do it?

  4. SweetPea permalink
    June 12, 2009 9:52 pm

    Sharon – I tend to eat every 2-3 hours so I don't let myself get hungry. I did also eat the burger with soup that was pretty filling and that helped too. Did you have a side with it?

  5. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    June 15, 2009 4:42 pm

    I had some carrots, but I probably didn't incorporate extra needs from my 10 miler and yoga class that morning. After I wrote you I had a banana w/ cashew butter…probably too much cashew butter as I was compensating. I had the veggie pattie w/ a slice of cheese again today and was fine. I had carrots w/ hummus a little later and I need to remember to spread everything out like you!

Leave a Reply

