Skip to content

It’s amazing!

June 11, 2009

Yesterday was the last day of school and it was such a tough one! The kids have a hard time with the fact that they can’t do whatever they want because it is, after all, still school even if it is the last day. I get what they are saying, but if they were that concerned with having that much fun they should have just stayed home, lol!

Today and tomorrow we have what is called post-planning days that are filled with filing, packing up and cleaning our classrooms and the best part – visiting with coworkers and eating yummy food! This afternoon a group of us are going to a local pizza place, which I’m really looking forward to and tomorrow is our end of the year luncheon.

Since I didn’t have to be at work until 8am today I thought I would be motivated enough to get up with C and go for a run. Well, the bed was much more inviting than running so I’ll have to blog about that later but I did want to blog about my breakfast this morning because I was a bit skeptical about it at first but was pleasantly surprised!

While C and I were at Whole Foods on Sunday, I used it as an opportunity to buy a lot of foods that we may not usually try – like Amazing Grass Green Superfood. I had one of their bars on Tuesday and wasn’t super excited about the date flavor but it was pretty filling, as it should have been because that sucker was 5 points! I shared it with some of my students in my honors class (I only have 11 kids in there) and they thought it was okay, but like me weren’t super excited about the date taste. Needless to say I was a bit nervous about trying out the Amazing Grass packet that I picked up (one in original flavor and the other in mango), but like I said I was pleasantly surprised that I liked it! I mixed it with 10 oz. of plain soymilk and used the immersion blender to get it really mixed up since there were powder chunks floating at the top that were a little too grainy for my taste.

I would definetly have this again although between the mix (2 pts.) and the soymilk (4.5 pts.) I used 6.5 points for my breakfast, which is a little higher than I would have liked. I’m wondering if I’ll be able to skip my morning snack, though, since the smoothie was pretty filling.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jennie permalink
    June 25, 2009 9:57 am

    What is an Immersion Blender? My blender just broke and i need a new one but wasn't sure if i have to spend $100 or is the $20 one ok. I'm afraid the one that broke was probably $20, i got it as a gift. I have another one but it's with the rest of my stuff in Florida which i won't get until Christmas.

Leave a Reply

