Skip to content

A difficult eight miles

June 14, 2009

I kept going back and forth with whether or not I’d get in my scheduled eight mile run today since we just ran last night and I don’t usually do well with back-to-back runs. I certainly didn’t wake up early enough to do it this morning so I waited out the heat a bit and decided to just go for it. I got the necessary stuff into my Camelbak and was out the door around 6:45pm.

Although I really wanted to get my eight miles in, I told myself that I would go in half-mile increments and see how I felt. The first two miles were great! I kept a pretty slow pace and just enjoyed the run, however I swear that there must have been a malfunction with my Garmin or the satellites or something (ha!) because mile three just wasn’t coming. I went out so much further than I thought I would have to go just to hit three miles that I realized that I would have to back-track to finish. Not cool.

Once I hit mile three, the next two miles went by pretty quickly. I think it helped that I switched up my music so I was much more pumped up. I thought that once I hit mile six I would be all “I can do this…only two more miles”, but it just sucked from there on out. The sun was setting (because I’d been running for about an hour and a half at this point…) and the mosquitoes were out with a vengeance. I was literally dripping sweat and shooing the bugs away and was just so done…but I’m stubborn as all hell and there is no way I’m going to quit with less than two miles to go, darn it! Now something that you must realize is that six miles is the longest distance that I’ve ever run in my life – so everything over six miles was new territory to me.

Mile seven finally came – and I ran out of water in my Camelbak. Not cool, but I knew that I was close to home and would be able to drown myself in water and G2 when I got there…and finally my Garmin hit the glorious numbers of 8.00 and I was done.

I was completely covered in sweat, seriously there wasn’t a dry spot on my shirt, and the ball of my right foot felt like it was on fire and hurt like nothing else. I made it home and wanted to collapse on the floor, but since C is out of town I had to take out the trash and walk Bradley (darn chores!). Taking out the trash was simple enough, but wouldn’t you know it, Bradley wanted to sniff and pee on everything in sight but he refused to poop. This is a battle that C has to fight with him every night but remember I had just run eight miles and my usual patience (ha!) was completely gone and I just started crying in the middle of the street. Yes, crying. I’m a crier anyways because I cry for just about every emotion that I have, but this was ridiculous. Poor Bradley just stared up at me wondering what the hell was going on and I’m sure some of my neighbors were wondering the same thing!

I got back inside, hobbled upstairs and took the most glorious shower ever. After I got out, I realized some things about the apparel that I was wearing on my run
1. The new sports bra that I just bought on Friday (Champion, but with underwire to keep the girls from bouncing all around!) sucks. Sure, the girls don’t move, but I chaffed in several spots despite lubing myself up with BodyGlide. Great.
2. I will not be able to wear pants with a seam for the marathon, because where the seam was are lovely lines of chafe (are you seeing a pattern here?) that run from my knee up to my inner thigh. Great.
3. The new socks that I bought that are supposed to keep your feet from blistering are crap because I think I will have two ginormous blisters on the balls of my feet just under my big toes. This is probably where most of the impact is when my foot strikes the ground. I look like an idiot walking around my house because the carpet hurts my feet. Great.

This seriously was one of my most difficult runs yet and really had me wondering how in the world I’m going to make it 26.2 miles, with hills, in October. I know I still have time to train and I realize that each long run allows me to learn something new, but good grief! One thing is for sure – running long distances is such a complete mind game! As long as I can stay positive I know I can get my body across that finish line, even if I’m on my hands and knees!

Traditional picture that I take when I’ve run a new distance.

I had to use the timer since C isn’t here to take the picture, so it’s not all that great, but you can see how super sweaty I am!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Croughwell permalink
    June 15, 2009 3:41 am

    Don't give up! You can do it!

  2. Meganerd permalink
    June 15, 2009 6:39 am

    Great job on the 8 miles!! Woo-hoo!! 😀

    When is your next race?

  3. Brandy permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:54 pm

    Great job!!! I'm so proud of you!

  4. SweetPea permalink
    June 15, 2009 9:00 pm

    Thanks everyone!

  5. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:55 am

    Dito….Embrace the sweat…I still think you may want to try the CW-X Xtra Support Bra

  6. pchieng permalink
    June 17, 2009 4:57 pm

    Great job, 8 miles is tough, I have yet to hit that yet. Keep up the running!

Leave a Reply

