Skip to content

Morning run

June 17, 2009

This morning I embarked on my first morning training run and I now realize why I hadn’t been seeing any of my fellow road warriors in the evenings – running in the morning is GLORIOUS! You all know that I’m not a morning person and that I’ve been enjoying my slumber and pushing off my runs to the evening despite how hot and sweaty I get, which isn’t unusual because it is running, but I think it’s safe to say that I can now consider myself a “morning convert”.

C has been away since Sunday afternoon for a conference so I’ve been doing everything solo around Casa J. While it feels like I do everything around the house while he’s here, I now have a much greater appreciation of how much he actually does do. Even more than his help around the house I miss the wonderful companion and partner that he is to me – I truly am blessed. While he’s been gone I haven’t been sleeping well (I’m a bit afraid of the dark so I sleep with the closet light on but then it’s bright…you get the point…) and I’m also in the midst of one workshop that finished up this afternoon with a lesson plan presentation and a class that has a crazy schedule (we met the past two Saturdays, today and will meet tomorrow and again next Friday) with a presentation and several smaller projects. The third, and final, class that I have to take begins this Friday and goes through next Thursday – but I will be completely finished with all of my classes for my gifted endorsement that I can add to my teaching certificate. Yes, that was a lot of rambling, but I promise that it has something to do with running J

Anyways, while C has been gone my stress level has literally been through the roof, so couple that with some really craptastic sleeping and it really is a miracle that I got up to run this morning. But I did! My alarm went off at 6am and I immediately thought “Heck no!” and hit the snooze button. Ten minutes later the alarm went off and I realized that I hadn’t actually gone back to sleep and that I was merely resting, so I talked myself into the run so I wouldn’t have to do it tonight. Yea, it really was that simple! Now if I can just listen to myself more often I’ll be good to go! Since I knew that I really wanted to try and go out this morning, I actually had everything set out and ready for me to put on – so I did and I was out of the house by 6:40am.

The first part of the run was amazing! I remember thinking to myself “Wow! It’s actually cool, breezy, and very little humidity! I love this!” As I continued to run it did warm up and by 7am I was a sweaty mess, as usual. I did decide to run 3.1 miles, which isn’t all that much more than usual, but I figured that since I’m running so many 5Ks I wanted to be able to compare my training times to my race times a little better and for me the 0.1 does make a difference in my time.

As long as I can get my butt up, I’m all about the morning runs. Perhaps I just need to remind myself of how nice it was to run for a little while without the sweat pooling under my sports bra before I’m even out 10 minutes!

Stats:
Distance – 3.1 miles
Time – 39’19”
Pace – 12:42’/mile (2:1 run/walk)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:21 pm

    Running in the morning IS GLORIOUS! WAHOO!

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    June 18, 2009 12:21 pm

    Plus, isn't it nice to get it over with? It's not hanging over your head as something you still need to do for the rest of the day!

  3. Meganerd permalink
    June 18, 2009 11:07 pm

    The mornings are so much less hot!!!

    Lol… craptastic is an AWESOME word

  4. Jennie permalink
    June 25, 2009 10:38 am

    My body doesn't work well in the mornings. I actually enjoy running @ about 3pm. I know i'm in a MUCH less hot and humid climate but i used to run mid-day in Florida as well and I DO NOT miss the humidity! But we have wind and it is just as bad but in a different way. I should try a morning run again abut i like breaking up my day with a run.

Leave a Reply

