Skip to content

A busy week, a 5K pace and a Green Monster

June 26, 2009

This week has been so busy and I’m ever so thankful that it’s over! This afternoon I finished the last class I needed to add a gifted endorsement to my teaching certificate. Yea! It was a long week, full of presentations and activities, but I was able to meet some really wonderful teachers that I know I will keep in touch with to bounce ideas off for the coming school year.

Needless to say I have been super tired so there were no early morning runs (I had a hard enough time getting up to make it to the class on time!), but I did get in a really great three mile run on Wednesday night. It was actually cool and breezy (as best it can be for June in Florida!) so I laced my shoes up and went out around 8pm. I downloaded some new music so I was really looking forward to the run. I also decided to increase my run time from 2 minutes to 2:30. I’d eventually like to get to 3 or 4 minute runs, but we’ll see!

Surprisingly the increase in running time wasn’t too bad and it was just a great run overall. I felt like I was running pretty fast and will admit that I was a little disappointed when I saw my time once I passed the second mile. I really need to do speed work (and cross train to increase my overall fitness) and now that my class is over I’m really looking forward to joining a gym and getting my butt in gear.

When I got home I looked at my time and realized that I did my run at my normal 5K pace – which is faster than my normal training runs. Now I understand what they mean when they say to “run at your 5K pace”!

Stats-
Distance- 3.1 miles
Time- 37:43
Pace- 12:11’/mile (2:30/1 run:walk)

This morning I should have been up for an early run, but that didn’t happen since I hit the snooze button for nearly an hour! Oops! I really wanted to try something new for breakfast and wanted to be able to have in on my ride into town so I decided to make an infamous Green Monster that I’ve been reading about on various foodie blogs for the past few months.

My Green Monster contained:

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 c. ice
  • 1 c. unsweetened soy milk
  • 1 banana
  • 4 strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate Muscle Milk (I need to get plain protein powder!)

I didn’t want to break out the blender so I used our immersion blender which worked okay, but next time I think I’d like my pieces of spinach to be a little smaller. Overall I LOVED IT! I couldn’t taste the spinach at all and now that I think about it, tasted mostly the banana. I told C that I would make him one tomorrow and he seemed game. Yea for hubby who likes to eat healthy and different food!

You can totally see how tired I am in this picture.
This one is for you H because I’m posting a horrible picture of myself
instead of censoring it! 🙂

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! I think I’m going to get up early-ish to get my three miles in and then do my long, six mile run on Sunday. It’s amazing how much faster it is to do the “short” runs now that I’ve done eight and nine miles 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hilary permalink
    June 27, 2009 6:54 am

    You look great in this picture! I don't think this counts as censoring. I am going to have to try the green monster. I will admit the spinach scares me a little.

Leave a Reply

