Skip to content

Foodie Fun Day!

June 28, 2009

Since I started yesterday off with pictures of my breakfast I decided to keep on going through out the day! C and I had a lot of things on our “to do list” so after our yummy sweet potato pancake breakfast we did a few things around the house and then were out the door a few hours later.

Our first stop was Native Sun Natural Foods Market for lunch. I also wanted to go there because they are the only store that sells a particular brand of soy yogurt that I wanted to try – so what a great way to decide if I liked it than by eating it with our lunch! After much deliberation C and I decided on:

Lentil salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, red onion and spices.
Very refreshing!

Spinach noodle lo mein with tofu, mushrooms and carrots.
Our favorite of the day!

For dessert we shared a delish organic oatmeal raisin cookie.
It was so good that we ate some before I could get a picture!

To drink C had a root beer and I had a green tea that I swear tasted like oven fries. Not so good!

For the past two weeks I’ve been following Weight Watchers using the “Filling Foods” technique where you are given a very broad list of foods to eat from, including all kinds of whole grains, beans, brown rice, veggies, fruit, meat – basically everything except bread and sugar. Those things that aren’t on the list you still can eat you just have to use the 35 weekly flex points for so it’s a way to still eat those types of foods, just in moderation. This is really good for me because I tend to grab bars and sandwiches instead of fruits and veggies, but following this program has caused me to change my eating habits in a more positive, nutritious way. It also really helps with the marathon training because I can eat until I’m satisfied after a run and not worry about how many points I’m using (although I do have to count the points for the gels during the run). I promise all of this Weight Watchers talk is important…

I’ve discovered that I really enjoy yogurt, especially Greek yogurt because of the high protein content, but over the past week I’ve noticed that my lactose intolerance has been rearing it’s ugly head and I’ve been getting “crummies in my tummy” (to quote Dr. Seuss!) so I thought I’d have to give it up. I went online and researched some soy yogurt and found that the brand with the best reviews was WholeSoy so I was really excited to try it!


The texture is a little different from normal dairy yogurt, but not so much that it was gross by any means. It was still very rich and creamy and I was also really happy that it didn’t have the same “tangy” taste that a lot of plain dairy yogurt has because it has a little bit of organic cane juice in it. Sweet, plain yogurt? I’m in!


After we were satisfied with the yummy food we’d eaten we ran the remainder of our errands, except for Costco which we are doing in a few minutes. Before we knew it, it was nearly 6pm and I was going out with my girlfriends (we had a blast!) and needed to pick up something quick and healthy for dinner. The choice was an easy one since it’s a “safe place” that we usually go to while we are at the Town Center, so we went to Nature’s Way Cafe. C and I both got the same thing – the Southwestern Meal Pack (C got jalapenos and I didn’t) and a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice.

Meal pack goodness!
After I mixed it up you could see all the goodness below!


The meal pack included:

  • Organic jasmine brown rice
  • Black beans
  • Broccoli
  • Green peppers
  • Red onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Red pepper salsa
  • Chicken

I ate about half of it before I was completely stuffed and am looking forward to eating the remainder of it for lunch this afternoon!

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday afternoon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    June 28, 2009 12:49 pm

    All those eats look very yummy! Mmmm!

    I love Sundays… I hope to get some cleaning done and watch a little baseball! Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

