Skip to content

Chocolate cherry smoothies and plantar fasciitis

June 30, 2009

Last night I was really craving some chocolate. I think it was because Megan from meganerdruns blogged about a delish box of brownie mix she bought from Whole Foods the other day. They looked sooo good I was nearly drooling look at the picture, lol. Don’t worry I did not break down and eat the house, nor did I send C out for dessert, instead I had him make me a chocolate cherry smoothie!


The smoothie contained:

  • 1 c. unsweetened soy milk
  • 1 c. ice
  • 1 c. cheeries
  • 1 tbs. dark chocolate syrup
It was so yummy C was drinking the last of it straight out of the blender glass!

I enjoyed it too and was really happy to turn an unhealthy craving into a healthy one!
(Yet another picture that should be censored, but I’m posting it for you H!
No more censoring here!)

Some of you may have noticed the lack of running posts by me lately. Well, that’s because there hasn’t been any running going on for nearly a week and oh how I miss it so! A few days ago I noticed a “twinge” under my arch when I would walk. Unsure of what was going on, I decided to wear my sneakers to my one of the classes I was taking last Friday and hoped it would go away. I slept in, missing my morning run and was considering going for a run Friday night but decided to put it of until Saturday morning. Saturday morning I woke up too late to get my run in, again, but still noticed the little “twinge” under my foot that I can best describe as a “tickle from the inside”.

While we were out running errands, I decided to pick up new insoles because I wasn’t convinced that the New Balance ones that I’d started wearing a few weeks prior were really helping all that much (I pronate with my left foot, but need cushioning shoes because stability ones give me shin splints). Since I was going out Saturday night a run was out of the question, but I still thought I’d get in my “short six mile run” on Sunday. Wrong. Finally I made the executive decision to lay off the running for a full week and so some calf stretches and strengthening exercises.

Now that it’s Tuesday the “twinge” is pretty much gone so I’m really hoping to go for a short two mile run tomorrow morning before we leave for vacation! I’m not sure that it is a good idea for me to do my scheduled 10 mile run on Sunday, so I may push that off until next week sometime. I’m really hoping that the insoles help because I really don’t want to have to buy another pair of running shoes (although Brooks has a line called “Guidence” that may be better than the completely neutral cushioning shoe that I’m running in now) since I have just under 100 miles in them. Sigh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    June 30, 2009 6:27 pm

    OMG that smoothie looks delish!

    I hope the insoles help!

  2. SweetPea permalink
    June 30, 2009 7:30 pm

    It was really good AND I didn't feel guilty about eating it 🙂

    Me too!

  3. Kelly permalink
    July 1, 2009 10:35 am

    I want to make that smoothie now. Hope the arch feels better soon.

  4. Hilary permalink
    July 1, 2009 3:34 pm

    I am in LOVE with the smoothie. Thank you so much for being creative and posting it! By the way I hope you know how photogenic you are. If I could only look half as good as you do in my bad pictures I would be ecstatic!

  5. Meganerd permalink
    July 2, 2009 1:24 pm

    Aw, sorry for making you crave chocolate! haha… thanks for the shout out though! 😀

    Hope the insoles work out!!

Leave a Reply

