Skip to content

Vacation and a sweet 3 mile run

July 6, 2009

This past week (Wednesday to Saturday) Carl and I went to Cocoa Beach to meet up with our friends Dave and Juli. The last time we saw them was at our wedding nearly a year and a half ago(!), so I was really looking forward to spending time with them, their families and their 10 month old daughter, Maya.

Dave and Juli

Carl and I spent the days between the pool, the beach and taking naps – all of which were glorious!

Carl and me at the beach

Notice I didn’t say anything about running…that’s because I didn’t run at all while we were in Cocoa. It was so tempting, especially since it was nice and breezy on the beach even in the middle of the day and there were quite a few people who were taking advantage of low tide to get some miles in along the hard, packed sand near the water’s edge.

I didn’t want to run for two reasons:

  1. My tendon was still feeling a little wonky so I knew the longer I could hold out the more it would heal.
  2. I think I really needed a break from running. I could not convince myself that it would be worth it to get up early to go for a run and believe it or not I didn’t feel guilty at all that I hadn’t been out in over a week. I did miss it, but there were no feelings of guilt.

I did, however, really focus on trying to eat as healthy as possible. I was somewhat successful until Saturday when we left Cocoa Beach and headed down further down south to visit with Carl’s family for a 4th of July BBQ. I still tried not to go too crazy, but I certainly ate some things that were not healthy choices – but they were darn good!

Needless to say my tummy is not super happy with me so I’m back on the straight and narrow once again! We did continue to make our Green Monsters while we were in Cocoa and even convinced Carl’s parents to try it (but I didn’t get a picture, darn it!). His mom really liked it, but I think his dad was still a bit skeptical 🙂

At our condo in Cocoa

This morning I decided my running hiatus must come to an end. I woke up around 6am with poor hubby who had to work today and got ready for a run. It felt so good to be out there again! It was darned humid, though, since it was about to rain and I did a slow and very sweaty three miles. It was a difficult run after taking “such a long break” but it felt really good so I still consider it a great run.

I noticed a few things about my run today (apparently I’m all about the lists today, too!)

  1. I love my new insoles! I could tell that they were much more supportive than the other ones that I had and I had no tendon pain under my arch during my run!
  2. I need to keep my laces loose around the feet but tighter around my ankle. I think this really helps (along with the insoles) my left ankle from rolling and causing the tendon to pull.
  3. I need to do speed work and cross-train. Nothing else that I can say here other than DO IT!

After I finished my run I took a shower, ate some breakfast and have spent the last few hours in bed catching up on blog reading and enjoying summer vacation. Bradley, our dog, is also enjoying the relaxing afternoon and is happy to be home from our travels.

Today’s stats:
Distance – 3.1 miles
Time – 41:37
Pace – 13:27’/mile (2:30/1 run/walk)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. That Pink Girl permalink
    July 6, 2009 5:13 pm

    Sometimes, a girl just needs a break. And your body will let you know! Good job listening. :o)

  2. teacherwoman permalink
    July 6, 2009 6:09 pm

    We all need a little break from running now and then. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

