Skip to content

I think I need new running shoes…

July 8, 2009

I think I’ve been in denial about how glorious my New Balance 883s are. Yes, I love how cushy they are because they helped my shin splints go away (haven’t had them since I switched!), but they aren’t perfect, even with my new SuperFeet insoles. I realize I haven’t had the insoles long enough to know if they are going to make a difference, and I really think they are great, but they still don’t keep my left ankle from doing it’s wobbly thing that it does when I run.

Bottom line: I need a cushioning shoe with some kind of stability/motion control (anyone actually know the difference between those two?). I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but they are kinda hard to find because people typically are one or the other – and it’s even worse because I only have this issue with my left side. I have normal arches in both of my feet, but when I run/walk my left one “collapses” a bit causing me to become a bit more flat footed. To make matters worse, my left foot is also my bigger one – and it’s not just bigger, but nearly 1/2 in. wider than my right – so I need a shoe with a narrow-ish heel and a large toe box. What a mess!

How do I know I need a new pair of shoes? Let’s just say for the last few weeks I’ll wake up in the morning and have to brace myself for that first step out of bed that I take with my left foot, hoping that my ankle doesn’t give in. Not good people, not good. Not to mention the twinge of lower back pain that I have on my left side that tells me that I’m all out of wack (hmm…could it be that my back is the problem?!). I also have to go down the stairs very carefully because sometimes it can give out a bit there and I really don’t want to go tumbling down the stairs. This isn’t normal and there is no way that I can continue training for my marathon just hoping that nothing major will go wrong on a long run, or after one. Heck, I even think this is what is causing the tendon thing under my arch rather than the plantar fasciitis.

What do I think I’m going to do? I think I’m going to look into the Brooks Guidence or Support shoes because after reading their description, I think that they are going to be my best bets. I know I’ve already tried Brooks, but it was in a neutral shoe that was too big for me (the store fit me in an 8.5 and I should have been in an 8). Since I’ve gone through three pairs of shoes I feel like I am much more educated on the process and can accurately discuss what I need rather than being talked into anything. I know what feels about right and what feels too hard when I put the shoes on and even walk around a store, let along take them on a run outside in the parking lot (ha!). Of course I’m open to trying other brands and am going to go to a specialty running store, so don’t worry about that 🙂

If anyone has any advice/options I’m totally open to listening, too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 8, 2009 1:13 pm

    I wish I had the magical reply for you, but I don't. In fact, Matt told me just this morning that maybe I need different shoes as he was disgusted looking at some of my blisters. I say all runners get some blisters, and they seem to come and go through time…but maybe I'll look more into that.

    About your back pain, Andrea, who were doing the marathon with (the one from Hawaii) mentioned on a thread in the wiki that she's getting acupuncture for her back pain, and it's 80% better than it has been in years. Check out the wiki and/or let me know if you want her direct email to ask her about it! you may be right, it may take care of your foot problems too. Remember, everything is attached to your back!

  2. Lisa permalink
    July 8, 2009 1:33 pm

    I hear you on the morning pain. My right foot over pronates and I have tendinitis in my right ankle. I have green Super Feet arch supports and New Balance 1224s but still have issues. It's hard finding something that works but I suppose it's a process of elimination. It just gets expensive after a while.

  3. teacherwoman permalink
    July 9, 2009 7:18 am

    Have you tried BROOKS at all? When I first started reading your post, I thought the BROOKS TRANCE might work for you, as that is what I wear and love. Then when you started to mention your arches, I thought of the shoes that my mom wears, but can't remember what style they are… those are BROOKS as well. Check 'em out. You might be in shoe heaven!

  4. robert permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:06 am

    Best vareity of running shoes are avaiable at Sports Authority… I found there many branded shoes at reasonable price…

Leave a Reply

