Skip to content

New shoes….Riiiight.

July 8, 2009

So after that last blog post I was all set to go to the running store and buy a new pair of shoes. I went to this small mom and pop store while I was out running errands and was really impressed with their knowledge of feet stuff and their patience with me while it felt like I tried on every Brooks shoe that they had stocked in my size. I tried on the Switch 2, Addiction 8, Defyance 2, and then this pair of Etonics (yeah, I know!) called the Jepara 2SC. I went back and forth between the Etonics and the Defyance 2 and settled on the Etonics because they seemed to be cushy and provide the stability that I was really needed in my over-pronating left foot.

I was so excited because although I’d never tried Etonic running shoes, I was really hopeful that they would be the key to all of my running issues. There was plenty of room in the toe box, great stability for my ankle (and the guy who helped me showed me a great way to lace the shoes to provide even more support!), and fit just right in my heel. I decided not to wear them out of the store, but was really excited to go for a run tonight despite the craptastic weather.

I did something a little stupid for my first run in my new shoes – I decided to just run instead of doing my normal run/walk. Perhaps they needed to be broken in a bit (read: more walking in them instead of running right away), but the first mile was really good and I finished it in a 10:30’/mile pace which is awesome for me. The second mile was difficult and I took a two minute walk break and continued running. I noticed that my left ankle wasn’t moving at all (yea!), but that my right knee and leg were feeling a little weird. No surprise there, fix one thing and something else goes wrong since it didn’t need fixing to begin with.

I felt like it took forever to get to the second mile and by the third mile the balls of my feet were completely burning and my toes were feeling a bit numb. This is a fairly common thing for me when I break in a new pair of shoes, but it didn’t happen as much when I was wearing my New Balance shoes because they are so cushy.

When I got home I swear that I felt like I had the beginning twinges of shin splints (dude, for real?!) and just really felt like the shoes were just waaay too firm/supportive than what my feet and legs like. I talked to Carl and decided to go to a running store up in Jacksonville tomorrow, to try another pair of Brooks that I didn’t get to try today, the Infiniti 2, because all of the reviews I read talked about how they provided stability and cushioning….and then I looked at the return policy of the store that I bought my Etonics from.

  • No Refunds/Only Store Credit
  • Shoes may not be worn outside, only worn on carpet is best
  • Must be returned in 10 days

Lovely. I did my best to clean them off and they should be fine to return after one run, although how can you tell if they are going to work if you don’t run in them? Seriously?!

I’m going to call the store tomorrow to see if they can special order the Infinity 2 since they didn’t have it in stock, but I’m afraid that they are going to make me pay for it. Sigh. I guess one option that we have is that I take them back, they give me store credit for them, and Carl can use it since he wears Brooks when he runs. That would totally work unless they won’t take the shoes back at all. Then they will just be another shoe to add to my ever growing shoe graveyard…

Today’s stats:
Distance – 3.1 miles
Time – 36:23
Pace – 11:45’/mile (no set run/walk)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. skinnysweetpea permalink
    July 8, 2009 11:23 pm

    There's a running store here that makes you get on their treadmill so they can study your running, and you can run in the shoes there before you buy them. Cool, huh? I need to stop in there. Is there a store like that around you?

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 9, 2009 5:21 pm

    I agree, I like the running stores with the treadmills. I also feel like new shoes always feel funky the first couple times you wear them…or even sometimes when I switch back and forth the first few steps feel funny. Let me explain, I currently switch between Brooks Glycerin and Asics GT-2140 whenever I feel like it – sometimes it's every other day, and sometimes I go a week in one…I go to grab my shoes for my run and subconsiously decide which are going to feel more comfortable that day.

    Have you tried the Asics Kayano? I bet you have, lots of people like that shoe…

    And lastly (and I hope I don't come across as mean), have you thought that maybe it's not the shoe but just that you need to continue becoming stronger? When you felt your shin slints at the end of your awesome (and faster than normal) run tonight, did the pain go away after stretching? Is it really, really painfull or more like soarness from a muscle you forgot you had? Again, not trying to be rude, but just some thoughts to consider.

  3. Brandy permalink
    July 12, 2009 7:49 pm

    Do you have anything like Fit 2 Run up there?

    http://www.fit2run.com/

    They are awesome!!

Leave a Reply

