Skip to content

A great run and great eats!

July 15, 2009

Yesterday afternoon, in the midst of all of my errands, I decided to look into joining the YMCA that is near my house. By near I mean about 20 minutes away…and it’s about a 35-40 min. drive from work. It’s not a bad drive by any means, but it’s still a heck of a lot farther than the gym down the street…that doesn’t offer spin classes, yoga classes or have a lap pool like the YMCA. I know that joining the YMCA for the summer, what’s left of it anyways, is a good thing because it will get me out of the house and allow me to work out in a different way than I can either running or doing DVDs on my own. I’m still considering it, but if anyone has anything to advise or weigh in on I’d greatly appreciate it!

After my visit to the YMCA and after my journey to the running shoe store I knew that I had to run this morning. I know that I didn’t give my Etonics a fair shot since I only ran in them once and wasn’t pleased with the way that they felt. Yes, I could have used more strengthening/stretching, but in all honesty I just really didn’t like the return policy that the shoe store had. I mean, come on, how do you know if the shoes are going to work or not if you aren’t “allowed” to even take them outside?! I honestly decided that it was worried about being out the money for the shoes entirely, and adding to my shoe graveyard, than anything else so I decided to return them and get a store credit for Carl since he wears his Brooks without any problems.

Interestingly enough, when I went to the running shoe store the guy actually suggested that I try wearing only my left insole, since that’s the foot that I have issues with. I wasn’t sure that you could actually do that (and I’m still not completely convinced…) but I went for a quick run outside and it seemed to be perfect! Nice support for my left floppy ankle and lots of cushioning for my right shin. It looked like my Brooks Infiniti 2 would work after all!

This morning I wasn’t excited about getting up, but I did sleep in a bit so it was a little compromise. I didn’t want to over-do it like I did last time, so I went for a nice 2 mile run at a very comfortable pace. It was so nice to be running again! Hot and sweaty, but really nice.

It’s been a while since I’ve documented a short run and it’s been a while since I ran so I thought I’d post one for good measure.
Today’s stats:
Distance – 2 miles
Time – 24:
54
Pace – 12:28’/mile (2:30/1 run:walk)

After I stretched out reeeally well and took a quick shower I made some breakfast before running out the door to pick up my baby mac! Breakfast included organic oatmeal, half of the package of vanilla rice protein and three strawberries. Yum! I’d never had rice protein and thought that it was pretty good. It tasted a little different than whey and the muscle milk that I usually use. I wish they had the plain flavor in the small packet, but they only had it in the ginormous tub size.

I had my first snack about half way to Gainesville and it wasn’t something that I usually like to eat but since we bought them a while ago Carl and I are trying to eat them up rather than waste them. There will be quite a few pictures taken in my car!

After picking up baby Mac and paying a fraction of the cost of what the Apple Store wanted to charge me, I decided to make a pit stop for some iced coffee.

Half-way back I started to get the munchies again, so I decided to bust out my banana. I’m so glad that I remembered to bring a ziploc baggie to put the peel in!

I had high hopes of heading to Whole Foods once I got back into town, but I was feeling a little overhwelmed by the cleaning that I had to do (my BFF Katie is coming to visit tomorrow!) so I settled for the Publix by my work that has a lot of organic options that the one near my house doesn’t have. I was about to eat my arm on my way home, so I had a Cliff Z-bar (not pictured) and settled in to eat my lunch.

My wheat wrap contained:

  • Boars Head turkey breast
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Olives
  • Green and sweet peppers
  • Parm cheese
  • Mustard

with a side of Terra Veggie Chips (x2!)

I’m so glad that I got my run in this morning because we had an awful thunder storm here! Poor Bradley was not happy about all the loud thunder and I tried to keep him company while I cleaned up around the house and downloaded pictures from the weekend to the computer (I’m so happy to have baby Mac back!).

Do thunderstorms bother you or your animals?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 15, 2009 10:14 pm

    I absolutely love veggie chips!! =] That wrap looks so good!

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 16, 2009 3:58 pm

    I always get the bread, I should remeber to try a wrap next time!

    You weren't kidding me when you said you eat every couple hours!

    And no, thankfully, Kiya does not have any issues with thunderstorms. When we first got her, she barked when there was a loud, unknown sound (like a file drawer), but we "scolded" her and let her know that we're in charge, not her (so she doens't feel like she has to protect us) and she stopped doing that right away. Now when something surprises her she looks to me right away to see my reaction first.

Leave a Reply

