Skip to content

Birthday celebrations!

July 15, 2009

I know how much you guys missed me, ha!, so I promise there will be extra posts today!

Last Friday was my birthday so hubby, his brother, wonderful girlfriend and I decided to spend a few days celebrating in Orlando park hopping. I was super excited to go to Magic Kingdom to celebrate my birthday with a free pass to the park so after dropping Bradley off to be boarded we were on the road. Let’s just say that the weekend was filled with lots of fun, lots of eating, lots of walking, but no running. I just couldn’t get myself motivated to run and I was so uncomfortably full from all of the crappy food that we ate that even walking around Islands of Adventure and Universal Studios was a bit of a chore at times. Carl and I did have such a great time that we decided to stay an extra night and we didn’t get back into town until Monday afternoon.

Yesterday I tried to get back on the bandwagon of eating healthier and today I even went for a run (more on that in a separate post!) so I’m slowly getting back where I need to be to feel better after eating crap for a few days, which is a step in the right direction! Let me back up a bit, though and tell you what else has been going on…

Last Tuesday I did the unforgivable and spilled part of my Green Monster on my MacBook. Lovely. After waiting two days to get the next available appointment at the Apple Store I was told that they didn’t deal with spills at the store and they would have to send it away for a flat fee of $750 and that would take care of anything that was wrong with the computer. What?! Are you serious?! The guy told me that it may be cheaper to look into an Apple Authorized Repair place, so Carl and I decided to go that route and deal with it when we got back from Orlando. Monday afternoon I called around and found that the closest authorized repair store was nearly 2 hours away, but the guy sounded very nice and I knew it was a nice drive so I was all geared up to go bright and early Tuesday morning.

I started the day off with a lovely and much needed bowl of oatmeal with 2/3 c. plain soy milk and coffee (not pictured). About half way through my drive I got a little hungry so I busted into my lunch bag and pulled out a Honey Graham Cliff Z bar. Yum!

I arrived at the computer place around 11am and after the guy told me that he was in the middle of working on another computer and it would be at least three hours before he could even open mine up to see what the damage was (and he wouldn’t know until then if he’d have to order parts…) I decided to drive back home. I was about 15 minutes from town when I got a call from the computer guy with the best news possible – the Green Monster got into some important parts of the computer, but because I turned it off immediately and didn’t turn it on again it was completely fine, but smelly and would be cleaned up and ready to pick up the following day. Music to my ears! Then, the best part of all was that he was just going to charge me for 1 hours worth of labor $95 (if only I could make that much money in an hour!) and no parts needed to be replaced! Yea!!!

Since I had other errands to run while I was out, I decided to stop off at The Manatee Cafe for lunch.

I had a red zinger tea to drink (I have no idea what it meant, I just wanted something that was unsweetened, lol!)

and the egg salad sandwich to eat…yum!

After lunch I continued on with my errands: return the Etonic shoes that I purchased last week (more about this in the next post…), purchase the Brooks Infiniti 2 shoes (more about this in the next post…), Costco for some spinach, strawberries, bananas and laundry detergent, Native Sun for dog food (they didn’t have the right brand that I wanted), WholeSoy yogurt and vanilla bean Purely Decadant non-dairy “ice cream” made with coconut milk.

When I got home I was a little hungry so I decided to have a snack that I also picked up from Native Sun…popchips (that I can’t find anywhere else!) and a mint water. I really liked the different taste that the popchips had, but I think that I’d like to try some other flavors (so if you’re listening out there in popchip land send me some to try!) The water was actually really nice and refreshing, especially since it was humid and rainy outside!

I was pretty full from lunch and my snack so it was nearly 7:00 when we ate dinner which consisted of macaroni salad from Native Sun, Amy’s roasted vegetable pizza with no cheese and left over japanese steak house rice, veggies and noodles. Sorry, I don’t have any pics of that stuff!

Around 8:30 we decided to try the “ice cream” along with a cookie that I picked up at the Manatee Cafe. The cookie was pretty good, although I didn’t like the dusting of coconut that was on top of the cookie (that you can’t see here because I forgot to take a picture of it!)

I’d heard such great things about the coconut milk “ice cream” so I was really excited to try it, as was Carl.

Carl’s review:

My review:

We both thought that it had a very “woody” after taste, but think that it may have been because the macaroon that we tried right before was pretty sweet. Not to mention the amount of processed sweets that we’d eaten over the weekend had both of our taste buds out of wack so we’ll keep an open mind when we try it in the future. I did decide to buy another pint of it while I was at the store today – cookie dough flavored – so maybe it will be better than the vanilla bean anyways.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 15, 2009 7:04 pm

    Sounds like you had a fun trip1! Happy belated bday!

  2. teacherwoman permalink
    July 15, 2009 8:02 pm

    Happy BELATED BIRTHDAY! Wwahoo!

    Glad to hear your MAC was fixed with a little sum of money! My Mac book died almost a year ago Sniff Sniff.

  3. skinnysweetpea permalink
    July 15, 2009 9:45 pm

    Good for you for getting back on track! I love your ice cream review pictures- they're cracking me up!

    I can see a big difference in your waist and face. Go you!

  4. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 16, 2009 3:51 pm

    Yeah Theme Parks – I love them! Did you have free passes to Universal, too? (If you haven't used your summer educator pass yet I can send you a link).

    I think Red Zinger refers to a specific flavor of Celestial Seasonings.

    Did the coconut mile ice cream have a destinct coconut flavor (kind of in the background)? I bought coconut milk yogurt and every flavor kind of still tasted like coconut…which was okay with the blueberry but not so much with other flavors.

  5. Danielle permalink
    July 16, 2009 5:22 pm

    Thanks for the belated birthday wishes, everyone!

    Sharon – Yes, we used our free educator passes. You do know that they are good until Sept 30th this time, right?

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Kristin! « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

