Skip to content

Chef Carl cooks a wonderful dinner

July 15, 2009

Hello there! Welcome to J’s Kitchen featuring Chef Carl. The star of the meal was a lovely Polish Kielbasa that was seriously some of the best tasting stuff that I’ve ever had…and of course I forgot to snap a picture of the brand.

Fingers crossed that I’ll remember it when I go back to the store to buy up more! Carl and I usually try to get reduced fat kielbasa, but after reading the ingredients of the brand that we usually buy I vowed to never purchase it again.

What is the point in having something be low fat if it is made with crap?! No sir, give me the regular one with less processed stuff and I’ll scale back, thank you very much.


Carl also made a great sauce to go on the meat, which was also cooked up with an orange pepper and onion. The sauce was made of:

  • Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce
  • Yellow mustard
  • Ketchup
  • Hot sauce
  • Pepper relish

Yummy goodness!

Yummy goodness all mixed up with brown rice

For dessert we tried the new flavor of Purely Decadent with Coconut milk that I picked up at the store today – Cookie Dough! I know it’s one of Carl’s favorites so I had high hopes that it would be good. It did not disappoint!

Carl’s review:

My review:

Oh it was soooo good! It had a lovely, sweet-but-not-too-sweet flavor that we felt the vanilla bean flavor lacked. It didn’t taste “woody” at all, just goodness! I do have to admit that I wasn’t super excited about the actual cookie dough pieces because they tasted a little grainy to me, but I’m not a super fan of cookie dough in ice cream to begin with. Carl loved it and ate nearly the entire container! Good thing it’s small πŸ™‚

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Meganerd permalink
    July 16, 2009 10:33 am

    Don't you love it when the men cook? πŸ˜€

    I liked the amazing meal! It's soooo expensive though. i saw it at WF yesterday and its 2.99 for a one serving packet. Another reason to only use a tiny bit… I'm not rich! πŸ˜€

  2. Kelly permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:27 am

    Anything chocolate. Right now from the store I like Ben and Jerry's Phish food, cause it has a really good chocolate flavor and the caramel and marshmellow in it aren't too over powering. From an ice cream place, I love Coldstone's chocolate cake batter…mmm. I want ice cream now.

    Does the coconut milk ice cream taste really coconutty?

  3. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 16, 2009 4:00 pm

    Ha, I'm the opposite of Kelly. I say any flavor that's not chocolate (I know, kind of backwards).

    And ditto on her question about the really coconutty taste. I tried coconut milk yogurt and there's always a taste of coconut mixed in with your flavor.

Leave a Reply

