Skip to content

Eggcellent breakfast

July 16, 2009

This morning I woke up wanting something “salty” for breakfast. As much as I love my oatmeal with strawberries I’m totally a salt lovin’ person and usually prefer salty over sweet. I wanted more than just eggs, though so I decided to whip up some organic O’Brien potatoes that I got at WF a few weeks ago. I think I could eat breakfast potatoes nearly every morning and the frozen ones are a great way to make them fast and easy. My favorite breakfast potatoes are still the ones that my mom makes for me when I go home. I just can’t seem to ever get them to taste as good as hers so I think it’s just something about her that makes them so yummy (love you mom!).

I really like “dip it in” eggs, where the whites are hard but the yolks are runny, but I’ve never learned the flipping skill necessary to pull them off, so I had to settle for scrambled eggs with cheese. I’ve also recently started enjoying ketchup on my eggs (sssshhh! don’t tell anyone because for years I thought it was gross to put ketchup on anything) so here they are in all of their glory – my eggcellent breakfast with potatoes.

I also had a cup of coffee with soy milk and Splenda. I know, I know I’m trying to cut out Splenda all together, but I just can’t do it. I’ve tried using stevia and agave in there but it’s just gross. Heaven forbit that I take a few of the calories and use regular sugar, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.

What is your favorite breakfast food?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 16, 2009 4:07 pm

    oooo, I think I like all breakfast foods, it just depends on my mood (salty or sweet).

    I think you "dip it in eggs" are what I always call "dippin eggs" which are actually "sunny side up" (that's what you should say when you order them in a restaurant.) They're my favorite too. You don't have to flip them at all! Crack the egg and put in a warmed pan (about medium heat, maybe a little less) and cover with the lid. I always put some pepper on it first before I cover it too. The lid will trap the heat to cook from the top, and make sure the pan not too hot so you don't burn the bottom. When the whites are white and the yolk is still a little flimsy you're good to go.

  2. teacherwoman permalink
    July 16, 2009 7:25 pm

    Eggs are probably one of my favorite breakfast foods. It used to be cereal, but then I was getting little to know benifits from that breakfast and only found myself hungry within a half hour!

    I usually have 2-3 eggs, toast w/ nutter butter, and half a banana! Throw in a coffee and I am in heaven!

Leave a Reply

