Skip to content

Errands and a visit from my favorite bean

July 16, 2009

After breakfast I did some things around the house to prepare for my friend Katie’s visit this weekend. Katie bean, as I affectionately call her, is one of my closest girlfriends that I met in college and it’s been waaay too long since we’ve seen each other. I’ve been really looking forward to her visit this weekend! I did a few things around the house before heading out to run some errands (have you noticed a pattern here? I do a lot of errands during the summer!) and since it was already getting late I decided to have a banana for a snack.

I went to several different stores before my tummy was growling uncontrollably so I decided to have Moe’s for lunch. I love mexican food and although Moe’s is very americanized mexican food, I still love it! I also really like Chipotle except that they put too much cilantro in their food (cilantro lime rice, salsa, guac, etc.) and it tastes like soap to me (thanks mom! – it’s genetic) so I don’t eat there as often.

One thing that I really like about Moe’s is that they now offer different sized burritos! They have the ginormous normal ones, “junior sized”, and mini for the kids (if you shave they aren’t for you, lol!). I decided to get the Art Vandalay junior with rice, black beans, cheese, salsa (not as much cilantro compared to Chipotle), lettuce, onions, black olives, guac and sour cream. I also added on a side of queso – yum – or not!

Although it was really yummy, I seriously think I’m becoming lactose sensitive again. Let me back up a bit – most milk products bother my tummy, which is why I’ve been drinking soy milk for the last 10 years or so. Milk and ice cream have always been on my “don’t eat” list, but cheese was usually okay. A few years ago, while I was in college I stopped eating cheese because it was causing problems and I felt so much better. I slowly started introducing it back in (I’ve never been a big ice cream person so that really wasn’t an issue) and I was fine. However, over the last few weeks I’ve been increasingly uncomfortable after I eat cheese (and yogurt that I cut out a few weeks ago) so I’m thinking that I need to go on my cheese hiatus again. I’m really bummed about it, but if it makes me feel better than I’m all for it!**

I ran a few more errands and then I went home to finish cleaning up the house. Before I knew it Katie bean was here and we started chatting up a storm. None of us were super hungry, so we had a “fend for yourself” dinner night. I decided to whip up a Green Monster for Katie to try.

Tonight’s Green Monster had:

  • 1 c. plain soy milk
  • 3/4 c. organic blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 5 Strawberries
  • 2 handfuls spinach

and was more of a Purple Monster than a Green one

I was so excited that Katie bean was willing to try the Purple Monster that you know I had to document it!


She likes it!

After I had my glass I was still a little hungry so I decided to try the plain So Delicious “yogurt” made with coconut milk (we are coconut fools around here!). Bradley was interested in it too!

It was really good and had just a hint of coconut flavor to it. I’d imagine that it tasted more coconut-y than the other flavors because it was plain. I did think that it was missing something so I added some Bear Naked granola to it.

I actually liked the yogurt more before I added the granola, so I’m not sure that I’d recommend a mix-in, although Carl thought it may be better with fruit.

Kelly and Sharon asked me about the coconut flavor of the “ice cream” that we tried last night so I thought that I’d comment on it, too. Neither Carl nor I thought that it had a very strong coconut flavor to it, but we both like the taste of coconut so I’m not sure that it would bother us even if it did. I really think it was more of an undertone than anything. We are going to buy more this weekend and have Katie try it so we’ll see what she has to say about the flavor.

**Just an FYI – Both my mom and grandfather also have problems digesting milk/milk products so I’m really not surprised by my sensitivity to it too. When I called my mom today to see if she could eat cheese (nope, she can’t without getting a “cheese belly”) she reminded me how fussy I was as a baby when she would drink milk. I’m thinking that means something!

Are there any foods that you are allergic or sensitive to?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    July 17, 2009 10:46 am

    Okay, I'm NOT the only one who think Chipotle's rice tastes like soap. My hubby thinks I'm crazy. But I'm not, you'll back me up on this right? I'll just have him read your post šŸ™‚

    Thanks for clarifying the coconut flavor…now where do I buy some of this stuff…time to google.

  2. Brandy permalink
    July 17, 2009 1:35 pm

    I'm allergic to eggs, which is a big bummer.

    I'm a big fan of Chipotle (I eat there probably at least twice a week) especially because of Food With Integrity (www.chipotle.com/html/fwi.aspx). Get a salad, without the cilantro rice! Sooo good!

    Sorry if this is too personal but I was curious about your soy consumption with thyroid issues. My endocrinologist told me to avoid soy and soy products- do you find you have any issues with your levels or fatigue while eating soy? I miss edamame but I'm afraid of the exhaustion again!

  3. Danielle permalink
    July 17, 2009 2:53 pm

    Brandy – I think it's a great question! Honestly, when I found out about my thyroid issues I didn't know that there was a problem with me eating soy at all. I've had my levels checked twice (every six months) since finding out that there was an issue and each time they have been fine.

    I don't notice any issues with fatigue necessarily due to the soy – when I'm tired it's usually because I've stayed up too late the night before – and it's no where near how I felt before I started taking my medication.

    I do think that I am going to start using other types of milk (almond or rice) in addition to the soy, but I really don't consume more than a cup of soy milk a day and I doubt that I consume more than the recommended daily does. It certainly is something for me to consider while I'm trying new and different foods, though, so thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    I don't want to advise you to go against what your endocrinologist said, but I can't imagine that eating edamame once a week or every so often would have *that* drastic of an effect on your levels. Only you know what you feel comfortable doing though šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

