Skip to content

Catch!

July 17, 2009

It’s been an incredibly relaxing afternoon and I’ve been enjoying every minute of it! Katie and Carl both got the work that they needed to catch up on finished and I enjoyed listening to them chat about work stuff and caught up reading blogs.

We weren’t feeling super hungry for lunch, so we all ate some snacks. I decided to try some of the Cascadian Farms granola that I got in the race packed that I picked up last night for the Vesticor Bridges 5K run that I’m doing tomorrow night.

I mixed it into WholeSoy yogurt and two strawberries – yum!

While I was eating my snack Carl decided to play catch with Bradley in the living room. I was so excited about this because for once Bradley actually brought back and released his toy! Of course Carl had cheerios to coax Bradley to release the toy, but I’m still proud of him!

I’m not sure how many of you read the comments that are left by other people (I don’t always read other blog comments when I use google reader), but Brandy asked me a great question regarding my soy intake and having hypothyroidism.
Sorry if this is too personal but I was curious about your soy consumption with thyroid issues. My endocrinologist told me to avoid soy and soy products- do you find you have any issues with your levels or fatigue while eating soy?

Honestly, when I found out about my thyroid issues I didn’t know that there was a problem with me eating soy at all. I’ve had my levels checked twice (every six months) since finding out that there was an issue and each time they have been fine. I don’t notice any issues with fatigue necessarily due to the soy – when I’m tired it’s usually because I’ve stayed up too late the night before – and it’s no where near how I felt before I started taking my medication.

I do think that I am going to start using other types of milk (almond or rice) in addition to the soy, but I really don’t consume more than a cup of soy milk a day and I doubt that I consume more than the recommended daily does. It certainly is something for me to consider while I’m trying new and different foods, though, so thank you for bringing this to my attention!

I did more research online and am honestly a bit freaked out by all of the stuff online about soy and thyroid problems. I realize that most things should be consumed in moderation anyways, but it’s scary to really think about what you’re putting into your body and what happens to it when it’s broken down and absorbed. Is it really as good as you think it is? I guess this just goes back to being aware of what you’re eating and where it comes from.

What do you think about the great soy debate? Are there types of foods that you don’t eat because of how they are processed or where they come from?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 18, 2009 9:44 am

    You were a blogging fool yesterday!

    Interesting enough I just started looking into the "great say debate" myself. My mom saw Jillian Michaels (Biggest Looser trainer) on a talk show talking about soy and increasing your estrogen levels and actually keeping weight on… She's told me about it enough times that when I was at the bookstore earlier this week I bought her book, Master Your Metabolism. I haven't gotten too far into it, and so far it's a lot of stuff you already know, just that I don't always practice.

    I'm not sure if I can give up soy milk. I tried rice milk a few months ago (when Matt and I were doing the "LEAP Diet" but it's just too watery.

  2. Brandy permalink
    July 19, 2009 1:12 am

    Thanks for your thoughts! I think I'll keep avoiding but won't beat myself up if I want a little soy now and then!

    My dog doesn't retrieve either. It is like she is laughing at us, "You go get the toy, I'll wait here for you". Hope you have a good race!

Leave a Reply

