Skip to content

Pie and pancakes

July 17, 2009

For dinner tonight we used a recipe for Mexican Polenta Pie that I found off of recipezaar.com that is seriously one of my favorites and totally a go-to meal for us because it’s so yummy and easy to make.

Carl sauteed up onions, peppers, garlic and Maverick ground beef in our cast iron skillet

While he did that, I cut up the “tube” of premade polenta and laid it along the bottom of a 3 qt. casserole dish (sprayed with canola oil)

and then added 1c. of fat free cheese on top (can you guess which side was mine?)

After the meat was cooked, we added: 1 can of black beans, 1 c. salsa and 1 can of rotel tomatoes
We stirred it up and let it simmer for 15 minutes and then put it on top of the cheese and polenta mix. The recipe actually calls for two tubes of polenta, but we only had one so it looked like this:
We covered everything with another 1 c. of cheese and cut up fresh tomatoes and put it in the oven to bake uncovered for 35 minutes

When it came out it was perfect!

Here was my portion

and I decided to make it even BETTER by adding some Wholly Guacamole and a bit of fat free sour cream. Yum!

After dinner we were all pretty stuffed so we sat around to digest and then decided to go for a short run. Katie recently started jogging in the gym at her apartment complex and this was her first run outside in quite some time. We ran for 90 seconds and walked for a minute and went almost two miles! I’m so proud of her! Carl joined us (his first run in over a month!) and we decided to document the occasion with a very sweaty picture.



Carl was craving some chocolate chip and blueberry pancakes so he made Katie and I some. So good! I ate quite a few along with some unsweetened almond milk and it was so good!

See, even Bradley wanted to eat the yummy pancakes. Don’t worry, we didn’t give him any!

And for tradition sake, here is the picture of me with my race number for the Vestcor Bridges 5K that I’m running in tomorrow night. More pictures of that to come! Carl has a training in Orlando so he’s not racing (and is not sure that he’ll be back in time to make it to the race at all) but Katie is coming with and is going to be my paparazzi.

Do you have any traditions that you follow the night before a race?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 17, 2009 11:55 pm

    Good luck on the race tomorrow!!

    That polenta pie looks great! I've never tried polenta but got a tube last time I went to the grocery store..! I can't wait to play with it!

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 18, 2009 9:48 am

    The night before a race I always "try on" what I'm wearing for the race…as if I've never worn it before and I want to make sure I look good (there are always photographers). I also pin on my bib so I know it's on straight and not in a place where it's going to bug me. I pack everything I'm going to want for the morning and the race and have it all set out too, so the only thing I have to think about in the morning is making sure I can go to the bathroom before I leave the house 😉

  3. Sue permalink
    July 18, 2009 3:11 pm

    That all looks amazing. Good luck on the race! I am just starting to really run I just did a 4 miler…I am lame.

  4. Croughwell permalink
    July 18, 2009 8:55 pm

    Good luck in your race tomorrow!!

Trackbacks

  1. Pre-Christmas adventures « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

