Skip to content

A sweaty but nice three miles

July 20, 2009

I woke up a little bit later than I should have to go for a run this morning but I’m determined to get back to my normal training schedule so I decided to go anyways. I left the house around 8am and settled into a nice pace and decided to go a different route than usual. The change was nice and I especially enjoyed using my new iPod shuffle that I bought with some birthday money (thanks gramps and MIL!). It was so nice not to wear something strapped to my arm – the freedom was glorious!

It was a little cool out because it was about to rain, although it hasn’t and is still yucky out, but it was hella humid out. I didn’t think I’d be out too long so I didn’t bring any hydration with me and when I hit just over two miles I didn’t want to give up and head home so I went to the club house in the neighborhood that I usually run in. I used the bathroom and splashed some water on my face and enjoyed the air conditioning before I headed back outside to finish up my run.

When I got home I dug into some G2 and a cherry pretzel Pro Bar that I read about on Healthy Tipping Point a month or so ago.

While I really liked the chunks that the bar was made of, it wasn’t nearly as good as I thought it would be. Good thing, too, because these things are very calorie packed.

I ate half of it and saved the other half for Carl to try. He thought it was okay, but wasn’t super excited about it either. He gave it a “better than okay, but not great” rating.

After I got cleaned up from my super sweaty run we made a quick breakfast. Since we were both indecisive about what we wanted, we decided on an english muffin that I split up – one had cashew butter with blueberry jam and unsweetened apple butter and the other had almond butter with the same combo of fruity goodness on top. We both really liked the blueberry jam better with the cashew butter because we thought it tasted a bit more flavorful (probably because we both think that almond butter has a stronger flavor than cashew butter so the spread taste was masked a bit). I really enjoyed the apple butter with both spreads because it tasted so fresh!

Yum!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. skinnysweetpea permalink
    July 20, 2009 1:05 pm

    Mmmm.. that english muffin looks heavenly! Good for you for getting back into your training! I need to do that too.

  2. teacherwoman permalink
    July 20, 2009 1:05 pm

    Glad to hear you got in your run this morning. Monday AM's are almost impossible for me. LOL

    I have been wanting to try some of those bars, but their spending too!

Leave a Reply

