Skip to content

Delicious dinner

July 20, 2009

I took a glorious nap this afternoon and woke up feeling hungry so I decided on a Green Monster that included:

  • 1 c. blueberries
  • 1 c. rice milk
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop original Amazing Meal

A little while later Carl and I still had grumbly tummies so we decided to go ahead and make dinner. Katie was looking through one of my older Everyday Food Magazines and pointed out baked eggs in tomato-parmesan sauce that looked so good! Carl and I were thinking about breakfast for dinner when I remembered the recipe and we decided to try it – we were not disappointed!

We didn’t have diced or crushed tomatoes so I just substituted those for a jar of pasta sauce that I had. It was even easier and still really good. I forgot to take pictures of the whole process like I did with the mexican polenta pie from the other night, but I did get some after it came out of the oven.

Up close and personal

It turns out that we overcooked the eggs (the yolks were supposed to be runny and ours were hard), but it still tasted soooo goood!

See? 🙂

I would certainly recommend this recipe because it’s so tasty and super easy to make.

Tonight I’m going over to my friend Kristin’s house (who is running the half marathon in San Francisco) to watch the Bachelorette. I don’t normally watch the show but I just couldn’t pass up some fun girl time.

Enjoy your evening everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    July 20, 2009 11:31 pm

    Omigoodness! I made something similar to this. All I did was cut the top off of a nice sized tomato, seasoned it like I wanted, and placed and egg in it and topped it with cheese. Cooked it in the oven for about 32 minutes! AMAZING!! Yours looks delish too!!

  2. skinnysweetpea permalink
    July 21, 2009 10:02 am

    That looks amazing!!

  3. foodnfit permalink
    July 21, 2009 1:07 pm

    Yum! That looks delicious!

  4. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:58 pm

    You've influenced me! I had a Green Monster today! I was leaving the gym after my swim (giving my blistered feet a break) and wanted a smoothie. I thought about going to Smoothie Kind, but then thought about all that I've been reading lately about natural, organic foods and knowing your ingredients, so instead I stopped at Publix and got some spinach and organic reduced fat milk (thinking about going back to milk permanently). My smoothie was

    1. 1 cup Organic Reduced Fat Milk
    2. 1 cup frozen Blueberries (packaged since I've run out of the ones I froze myslef last spring)
    3. handful of frozen Strawberries (froze them myself)
    4. Big handful of Spinach

    my smoothie was a little thick so I had to add about another 1/2 cup of milk to get it to blend.

    The first sip was a little strong on the milk and spinach flavor. I'm used to smoothies with apple juice and avacado instead, but if I get used to the milk, it will have less sugar and more protein. But once I got used to it, it was pretty good. Also not as sweet as I'm used to (b/c of lack of apple juice), but it will be good to get used to less sugar too.

Leave a Reply

