Skip to content

Feeling boxed in

July 20, 2009

I was feeling a bit snacky so I decided to try some of the goat’s milk yogurt that we picked up from Whole Foods last night. Interestingly enough I was just reading an article in Clean Eating Magazine that compared several different kinds of yogurts and they mentioned the “tang” that goat milk has and how people either love it or hate it. I felt like it really helped me brace myself for what I was about to experience.

Taste #1: Hmm it kinda tastes like fat free plain yogurt but much more “tangy”.
It does actually have a nice after taste, though, but to get there you have to go through the initial taste.

Taste #2: Hmmm…still don’t really think that I like it

Overall rating: YUCK!

Carl tried it and I couldn’t even get him to go in for a second taste! He said it totally tasted like a combo of gorgonzola and feta cheese – and I have to agree with him a little bit. Sadly, we decided to throw it away and decided never to buy it again.

We were still feeling hungry but decided to go ahead and cook lunch rather than having a snack since it was 12:30. We decided on Annie’s Mac & Cheese because it was quick so Carl cooked up some chicken that we had left over in the fridge and added some onions and a mix of frozen peas and carrots.

I had a fairly small portion so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t get an attack of “cheese belly” in a little while.

I have to admit that I’m feeling a little boxed in by food lately. I know that I haven’t been eating all that great lately so my tummy may be in a general tailspin, but my lactose sensitivity combined with learning that I should avoid soy as much as possible has taken away a lot of my go-to food choices. I know that a lot of these feelings have to do with Weight Watchers, too, and I don’t know how I feel about that. I love WW and really feel like I need the structure of the meetings and portions and the “freedom” that the program offers. However, that freedom feels like it’s been taken away a bit because I’m now following the “filling foods technique” (which helps with my marathon training) quite a bit of the “filling foods” I can’t even eat – fat free dairy and soy.

Yes, yes I know “everything in moderation” is fine and that’s what the 35 flex points are for but I feel very restricted now. Rice milk, almond milk, and coconut milk are all points so how am I supposed to incorporate them into my diet on a daily basis? What am I supposed to put in my smoothies, my coffee and oatmeal? Use the 35 points, you say? It sounds easy, but when things are 1-3 points per serving those points add up pretty quickly and that’s not even including any cashew butter, almond butter, bread etc. that I also have to use my flex points for.

In all honesty I haven’t started tracking these things since my discovery about the soy/thyroid debate a few days ago so maybe it truly won’t be that big of a deal, but I just hate feeling like I’m being “punished” because my body can’t handle the things that Weight Watchers says I can eat. Things that are considered “filling foods” are things that are made with “filling foods” so I do understand why almond milk isn’t on that list because you’d have people eating tons and tons of almonds (and other types of nuts) and wondering why they aren’t losing weight. I guess right know knowing and understanding are two different things and it certainly doesn’t mean that it frustrates me any less.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    July 20, 2009 6:21 pm

    I never did get into WW, and I think it's because I hated the idea of tracking every single little thing I put into my mouth. However, since I started doing pretty much the same thing a week ago, I have already began to notice things that work for me, and things that don't. You need to find what works for you and go from there. This can be challenging, especially when training for something. I have gone beyond keeping track of what I am eating, but also how I feel afterwards, how I feel before and after a workout, and so forth. Maybe you need to look beyond WW?! I don't know. I am sorry, not much help here.

  2. Danielle permalink
    July 20, 2009 6:58 pm

    No, I really appreciate your input here. Thank you so much for posting your your advice!

    Part of me likes the "guidelines" that Weight Watchers uses with the "filling foods" so I'm kinda wondering if I should just substitute the almond/rice milk for the soy and go on my merry way.

    I think the initial frustration is wearing off since I posted this so I'm working more in "make it work for me" rather than being bitter and angry, lol.

  3. Brandy permalink
    July 21, 2009 7:08 pm

    Does dairy yogurt bother your stomach? Kevin is lactose intolerant but does fine with yogurt (live cultures). You could use that and a few ice cubes in a smoothie. And use water in your oatmeal. Or try lactaid?

    I don't want to push my way of eating on anyone but I've done really well on a low carb diet. And I never would have ever thought I could do low carb. I seriously feel amazing and all of my stomach issues (acid reflux, IBS, etc) have gone away. I know it may not be good when training for the marathon but, I work out really hard and still have the energy. What is amazing to me is that I cured my sugar addiction and still eat really well. I ate a lot of salads, fish and I still get to eat Mexican as much as I want (I looooove Chipotle). If you ever want to talk about it- just let me know! You really are doing awesome.

  4. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:40 pm

    I was going to buy The Runner's Diet last week, but then saw it had horrible reviews online, but Performance Nutrition for Runners had great reviews, so I bought that one instead. IT'S GREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT! The beginning is stuff I know, but put in a way that I understand nutrition like I never have before. I'm now on Ch. 4, Optimizing Your Body Composition. He says "weight loss is not a worthy goal for most runners to pursue. A better alternative is to optimize your body composistion." He then proceeds to discuss a good way to accomplish this. The author is great and realistic. I do have to read it slowly and with a highlighter because there is so much valuable information, almost like a textbook.

    p.s. I just read "specific popular diets cause additional problems for runers. Extreme low-carb diets, for example, rob muscles of glycogen…since each gram of glycogen is stored along with 3 or 4 grams of water, extreme low-carb diets result in significant dehydration…"

    Good stuff and it just keeps coming. The author is Matt Fitgererald and it's published by Rodale.

Leave a Reply

