Skip to content

Feeling better!

July 21, 2009

After the last few days of feeling boxed in and frustrated about food I’ve turned a corner and have more options than I realized. I spent this morning doing research on different foods and really sat down and thought about what I want to eat, how I want to feel after I eat and how I want to know where my food is coming from I feel much more empowered. During this whole thought process I also realized (or remembered) a few things:

  1. I really don’t like almond milk. I can’t get over the “popcorn” taste that I think it has and I also think that it makes everything taste the same. Therefore, almond breeze is not for me.
  2. I think I like rice milk. It’s a little thinner than I’d like, but after feeling really frustrated about the fact that it’s not a Weight Watcher “filling food” I found a recipe online to make it on my own! I’m really excited to try the recipe and while I know that it will be more time consuming than purchasing it from the store I will know all of the ingredients that go into it and I can have the satisfaction of making it on my own! I’ll post the recipe in a few days when I make it.
  3. I need to remind myself that “food is fuel” more often to really understand what I’m doing when I’m putting food in my body. I think that teacherwoman put it best when she said “I have gone beyond keeping track of what I am eating, but also how I feel afterwards, how I feel before and after a workout, and so forth.” She even started a separate blog called Finding the Proper Balance to keep track of everything! I love this idea and am going to start doing it this evening, although I’m not sure if I’ll blog about it.

My mind would not settle down last night and as a result I didn’t really feel rested this morning. In fact, when Carl’s alarm went off this morning at 5:30am as it usually does on a work day I went back to sleep until nearly 10:30am! Needless to say I feel like the day is slipping away a bit but it’s been good to do some online reading and catching up on blogs.

For breakfast I decided that I really wanted a bowl of cereal, so I had one! I had some Special K that was left over from Katie’s visit this weekend and threw in some old Bear Naked Granola and a banana to round it out. I used about a cup of rice milk and loved how the flavor really blended in with the flavor of the cereal (read: it didn’t taste like popcorn!)

My coffee, on the other hand, wasn’t nearly as good as usual. We are also trying to cut Splenda from our diet so we bought raw cane sugar to add to our coffee instead. I’m still not sure that I like it nor am I excited about using almond milk (it’s gone now, thank goodness!) or rice milk in the coffee. I’m contemplating buying half and half instead. Oh how I miss my soy milk, but I know that I need to lay off it in the morning especially since it’s when I take my thyroid meds.

While I was making my grocery list and doing our meal planning for the remainder of the week I snacked on a very ripe and juicy plum. Now I’m off to the store for some good eats and a yummy lunch when I return.

One Comment leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 21, 2009 9:02 pm

    Glad you're feeling better! I recommeded Runners World Performance Nutrition for Runners on your "Boxed In" post.

    Even though I feel like I'm fairly knowledgable in nutrition (not that I always practice my knowledge!!!!), I think I understand (or at least can reference) more than I ever have before.

Leave a Reply

