Skip to content

12 Miles!

July 26, 2009

After missing two long runs I knew that I couldn’t miss my next one that I had scheduled this morning but was a little nervous about tackling the “almost half marathon” run of 12 miles. 12 miles?! Holy goodness!

My alarm went off at 5am – ridiculously early for a weekend. I managed to crawl out of bed to put my contacts in, wash my face and get dressed and I felt pretty good, nervous but good. I stretched a bit, ate my breakfast of a homemade frozen sweet potato waffle, 1 tbs. almond butter and 1 tbs. apple butter, stretched some more and made sure that my Camelbak was all packed. For the run this morning I made sure to bring my cell phone, ID, debit card (just in case!), three gels and two small packs of PowerBar gel blasts that I got from the last two races that I ran in. On my shoes I had velcroed my new RoadID and a pouch with my house key. Of course I brought along the iPod shuffle that I bought last weekend – fully loaded with my running mix plus a few other songs that I downloaded last night. I finally left the house right around 6am with a temperature of 78 degrees and 98% humidity! Good grief!

Since it was still fairly dark outside I decided to do the loop around my neighborhood before heading out down the road. The first three miles went by pretty quickly and it was really cool and breezy, for a summer morning in Florida. I took my first gel, a strawberry Clif brand with 1/2 shot of caffiene, at mile three and realized that I really don’t like the Clif ones. I swear I was burping it for the next 40 minutes or so. I set a goal to run down the street to the McDonalds before turning around, since I hoped it was around mile six, but it was a lot closer to our house than I thought – so I just kept going and ran to the next stop light. Around mile four I started to realize that my right shoe was starting to rub my heel and I knew I was going to end up with a blister despite applying copious amounts of BodyGlide on my feet before I left. I did actually toy with the idea of stoping in Publix, which was open at this point, to buy some band aids but I wasn’t sure that it would have helped. It felt like I was taking forever, but I just kept running and took my second gel at mile seven, which was a strawberry banana PowerBar one. Much better! Before I knew it I hit mile eight and then mile nine! Woo Hoo!

Unfortunately by this time it was nearing 8am and as the sun was continuing to rise the shade that I’d been running in was going away. While I really only had a 5K left I knew it was going to be the most difficult part of the whole run. I noticed that I was really slowing down because it was so hot! I did the most walking during my entire run from mile nine to mile ten, but I never walked through a “run” and stuck pretty well to my 2:30/1 run/walk ratio and felt pretty strong until that point. I made it through to mile 11 and really had to push the last half mile or so but I DID IT! I MADE IT 12 MILES! It was emotional and I teared up a bit 🙂 I can’t believe that just a few months ago I was struggling to run three miles and here I’d nearly done a half marathon.

While I walked home after I finished, I always save at least a half mile for a cool down, I knew that my feet were going to be a mess. The ball of my right foot was cramping pretty bad and my heel was really irritated. When I walked in the door Carl was watching TV and told me that he’d run my bath and when I got in he’d bring me the ice. What an awesome husband! I had him snap this picture before I went off to soak myself, documenting the occasion.

I slowly climbed up the stairs and eased myself into the tub. Carl came in and dumped all the ice we had in our ice maker into the tub and I sat there, quite chilly, examining my poor feet. Turns out I did get a ginormous blister on my right heel and one that isn’t going to come to anything on the ball of my right foot, but it’s still tender to walk on. I soaked for about 15 minutes and then took a shower while Carl cooked me a delish omelette and o’brien potatoes for breakfast.

I was feeling super tired for running for almost three hours and getting up so early, so I decided to put on my Zensah compression sleeves and crawled back into bed. My knees were hurting a bit so I had Carl grab me an ice pack and a pack of peas (haha!) so I could ice them for a while. I slept off and on while Carl watched TV. I know that I should have been up and walking around, but I was just too tired to do much of anything by lay in bed today.

I am surprised at how sore I am and I really can’t imagine how sore I’m going to be after the marathon. Perhaps it will all be relative since my training runs will continue to get longer and my body will adapt to them – I hope! I do think that I’m going to invest in a pair of compression pants because my calves/shins feel SO much better in the sleeves than my thighs and butt that have nothing, lol.

Next week is a 14 mile run (!!) and I’ve got to figure out some way to keep my feet from blistering. I’m thinking either duct tape or moleskin and a new pair of technical socks since I think mine suck. Actually, I think it’s the shoes (although they are great besides the blisters…) because I noticed even on my short runs that the shoe would rub a little bit, but never this bad.

Today’s stats:
Distance – 12 miles
Time – 2:53:43
Pace – 14:29’/mile

6 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 26, 2009 9:37 pm

    Yeah, I'm so proud of you! I was thinking I may have to call and harass you since I havn't seen any "long run" posts. Here are some of my thoughts as I read your post:

    1. Did you take a rolling carry-on with you for your run?
    2. Not a big fan of the Clif Gels either…remind me of sugary alcoholic drinks
    3. I know, so HOT in Florida…I was thinking how it will make me stronger in the cool weather (? maybe just made that up)
    4. Do you stretch before going in the ice bath? I feel like stretching after my run when my muscles are warm REALLY HELPS! Once you go in the ice bath, although it helps them heal, it tightens them up too.
    5. Yes, I often take a nap after a long run too, and I know that "aching" soar feeling. Don't forget you can take some ibuprofen after your run too.
    6. Heal blister – my guess is socks – possibly get ones that come up higher on the heal – I love Asics Hera Lowcut. Or try tying your shoes differently so the heal fits a bit tighter.
    7. Don't forget to keep stretching throughout the next day…the last thing you want is to tighten up and get an "overuse" injury.
    8. So proud of you…can't wait to hear how 14 goes next week.

  2. Emmett permalink
    July 27, 2009 2:32 am

    Love the blog! I enjoy running as well.

  3. Danielle permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:36 am

    Sharon – you crack me up! For me 8 and 9 were also long runs even though they aren't super long they were for me 🙂

    I also agree that it will help to be training in the heat and then run in the cool. I really noticed a difference in my running and the temperature yesterday. I'll continue to tell myself that even if it's not true 🙂

    I did stretch after the run before the ice bath but did most of it after the bath. I'll keep that in mind for next week!

    My blister is much farther down on my foot, right at the bottom of the heel not at the top where my sock is. I'm still thinking sock though.

    Thank you!

  4. Danielle permalink
    July 27, 2009 8:36 am

    Thanks for visiting Emmett!

  5. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    July 27, 2009 9:53 am

    Had some more thoughts during my morning run…

    I was thinking of PowerBar gels that taste like sugary alcohol drinks (ex: apple reminds me of college freshman days with a bottle of Sour Apple Pucker, which is not a good taste on a run!) I don't know that I'm familiar with the Clif ones you're talking about?

    I realized the heal blister was probably down further…do you Body Glide there? I started being better about Body Glide between my toes, and that solved that problem I was having there with my new shoes…perhaps just more Body Glide on the heal to take out the friction?

    Hope you don't think I'm being pesky, just like to share what I've learned…

  6. Kelly permalink
    July 28, 2009 12:48 am

    YAY! Congrats on the new distance! Feels great, doesn't it?!

    Very happy for you.

    I support going to bed after your run, sometimes that's all I want to do! And I second whatissharondoingnow…bodyglide up yo feet!

Leave a Reply

