Skip to content

Yoga and potato chips

July 28, 2009

I have discovered that covering the clock on my nightstand allows me to have a much better night’s sleep. Who knew that doing something as simple as that would make such a huge difference! I must admit that when Carl’s alarm clock goes off at 5:30 am (he doesn’t have summers off like I do) the thought to go for a quick run goes through my mind right as I’m falling back to sleep 🙂 I know it would help to have a set schedule to go to sleep and to wake up, but I’m really going to enjoy these last precious weeks of summer vacation!

I crawled out of bed around 9:30am thinking that I’d finally get to taking a class at the YMCA that I’ve been considering joining for the past two weeks. I came downstairs and leisurely made a cup of coffee that was so yummy I could hardly stand it! Carl and I are trying to kick our habit of using Splenda in our coffee so we purchased some raw sugar to use instead. It has quite a different flavor than I’m used to and this morning I finally figured out the ratio of sugar, coffee and creamer. It was such a nice change from the yucky coffee that I’ve been having for the past week. Yea!

As I was drinking my coffee I decided to take a look at the group exercise schedule for the Y and realized that the yoga class that I wanted to take was only offered today at 10:30am. Since the Y is about a 20 minute drive for me I told myself that if I could enjoy breakfast and get caught up on the blogs that I read by 10am I’d make it. Luckily I had a quick breakfast in mind, oatmeal with berries, and was out of the house in time to make it to the Y.

I was super excited about the class this morning because my body has been pretty sore since my 12 mile run on Sunday morning and I knew that what I needed more than anything was the great stretch that yoga would offer. There was a substitute in for the regular instructor, but she was wonderful and I really enjoyed the class. It’s been years since I last went to a yoga class and brought me back to my college days and the rec centers on the University of Florida’s campus (Go GATORS!). I feel so much better after taking the class and am pretty sure that I’m going to sign up for a membership either tomorrow or the next day. Very exciting!

On my way home I was craving potato chips and instead of stopping off at the store to get some I decided to make some of my own! I thinly sliced a few small red potatoes, put them on a cookie sheet, and seasoned them with salt and pepper, season salt and garlic powder before putting them into the oven for 30 minutes. I flipped them and them put them back in for another 30 minutes. They got a little brown, but they were good and totally satisfied my chip craving! I had them with a Dr. Praeger’s California Veggie Burgers and some fruit. I know it looks like the “chips” are taking over the plate but it’s because I snacked on the fruit while I was waiting for everything to be done. Yum!

Are there unhealthy things that you crave? Do you eat them in moderation or find a healthier alternative to them?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

