Skip to content

Surprise lunch

July 29, 2009

Do you ever have one of those days when you have every intention of getting a ton of things done? I felt like that this morning but haven’t managed to make much happen other than some laundry and organizing things. I feel like I let too much time pass between when I needed to get out of the house to do errands and when I would need to be back home for the speed class tonight so I decided to stay in and do stuff around the house. There’s always tomorrow!

I was feeling completely uninspired by the food that we have in the house right now (and Carl didn’t take the darn french silk pie to work with him today!) so I dug into our pantry and pulled out a box of Lundberg Creamy Parmesan Risotto that I purchased a few months ago when I saw it on Caitlin’s blog.

I was pretty hungry so while it was cooking I decided to eat a banana so I wouldn’t overeat when everything was ready. I love bananas!

At first I was just going to have the risotto, but I knew that it wouldn’t be super satisfying to just eat that so at the last minute I decided to sautee up some onions and peppers and make a veggie wrap. I’d been seeing these lovely pressed wraps on other food blogs that I read so I decided to bust out my George Foreman, too!

I used a La Tortilla Factory tortilla and layered a slice of 2% cheese, two slices of tomato, a handful of spinach and the sauteed onions and peppers. Yum! Unfortunately I probably should have skipped the cheese since it made such a mess! It totally melted and started running out of the tortilla and I’m so glad that I put the little tray thingy under the grill because I would have had quite the mess on my counter! I was super excited about this lunch and decided to have 2/3 c. of the risotto along with the sandwich.

I’m not sure if it was because of the melty cheese or because I didn’t do such a good job wrapping the sandwich, but once I started eating it totally fell apart! Since I love to combine food anyways, I decided to put the risotto into the sandwich and it was heaven! I was so satisfied with everything once I finished my sandwich that I didn’t even eat the second “scoop” and put it back in the pot. I’m certain you’ll be seeing more of that risotto 🙂
One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    July 29, 2009 2:51 pm

    I love that risotto. I mix a small scoop of it on baby spinach as a side dish…otherwise I would eat the whole box myself.

Leave a Reply

