Skip to content

Running, Eating and Shopping

July 31, 2009

I swear these are the three things that I’ve spent most of my summer doing – running, eating and shopping! I must admit that those are three of my favorite things to do, especially when I’m with friends and family.

Despite a horrible nights sleep I woke up at 5am (!!) to get in a 4 mile run before heading down to Orlando to meet up with my friend Brandy. We try to get together every year (we live on opposite costs and Orlando is in the middle) but missed last year so it’s kinda like our “bi-annual visit”. The run this morning was super hot and sweaty! I left around 5:45am and when I got home a little before 7 it was 78 degrees with 93% humidity. Yuck!

Today’s stats:
Distance – 4.00 miles

Time – 51:16

Pace – 12:49’/mi

Best pace – 9:26’/mi
This is a new feature that I discovered on my Garmin. I’m not exactly sure how it calculates it, but it makes me feel speedy so I think I’m going to include it in my stats from now on.

After I stretched, drank lots of water, a little G2 and a banana, I hopped in the shower and then decided to go back to sleep for 30 more minutes! It was a glorious little cat nap that I really enjoyed. I apologize in advance for all of the blurry pictures, but I think it just shows how tired I was today!

Before I left I had some puffed rice cereal and some Special K with my oat milk. I love the oat milk! Heck, even Carl likes it!

I got to the mall a little bit before Brandy did because she was stuck in traffic so I decided to try the Larabar that I picked up at Publix yesterday. I’ve only had one other of these and really didn’t like it (I think it was cherry flavored?) but wanted something a little different than a Z bar so I decided on the peanut butter flavor. I mean, you really can’t go wrong with PB can you?

Ya’ll are going to laugh at me, but I was looking for the ingredients list on here and it seriously took me a few minutes to realize I was staring right at it but because there were so few ingredients I didn’t even know! Silly goose!

I’m glad that there were only three ingredients and while one of them was salt there are only 85 mg in there which is comparable to another bar that we have in our house (Publix brand nutrigrain bars). I really liked this flavor and found that eating only half of the bar was perfect as a small snack and helped break up the calories and fat into two servings.

After Brandy fought the traffic we had lunch at California Pizza Kitchen and I got the Cobb Salad with no dressing. In my excitement to catch up with her, I forgot to take a picture! It was so nice catching up with Brandy and we both agreed that we need to try and make time to see each other more often than once every two years ๐Ÿ™‚ Once we finished eating we headed off shopping and I got quite a few things and thanks to my coupons (Loft Loves Teachers – 20%, Banana Republic Family and Friends Event to support the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society – 30%, Anthropologie birthday card – 15%) managed to save quite a bit of money. I love good deals!

Brandy and I said goodbye around 4pm because she had a meeting later on this evening but we made sure to take a picture. Lovely self portrait, if I do say so myself!

I hit a decent amount of traffic going through downtown Orlando (of course!) and snacked on an apple (unpictured) to tide me over until dinner. It was a good thing too because I got caught in a horrible rainstorm for about 40 minutes! We all had our flashers on and were going about 40 mph to get where we were all going safetly. I passed a few single car accidents but everyone seemed to be fine.

When I got home I was a bit stressed and pretty hungry so I munched on a Fruit and Grain bar while I waited on my nachos to cook in the oven.

Since Hilary went with a Mexican food theme (my fave!) last night, we were sent home with some leftover nachos (most of which Carl ate for lunch) and a bag of bite size Tostitos. I decided to pull the meat off of the nachos and add them to my fresh Tostitos, homemade black bean dip and fat free cheese. When they came out of the oven I added some Wholly Guacamole and salsa. Yummy!

I am so excited to sleep in tomorrow morning! I love the weekends ๐Ÿ™‚
3 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    August 1, 2009 11:45 am

    1. Yeah for getting your run in even with a full day planned.

    2. I was jsut going over some of my stats from when I wear Matt's Garmin (a really good V-day gift from me!) and noticed this best pace thing. Does make you feel speedy and realize how much faster I can maybe go. Is your pace graph on the computer constant up and down swings? I checked Matt's and they are too. Is everybody? I wonder what the goal "wave height" is? I fluxuate almost 4 minutes in pace sometimes, is that too big and maybe ideally I want a steady line? I wonder…

    3. Yeah for both you and Carl liking oat milk. Perhaps you won't have to make your own rice milk…ever again?

    4. Isn't it amazing that LaraBars can have so few ingredients. When I first heard about them several years ago I though people where just mispronouncing Luna Bar…but I'm glad they're more prevelant now since they're good to stash away for hunger.

    5. Really love sleeping in too, wish I would have taken the dog out once more last night so she would have left me alone a little longer. She's good about going back to bed when I ignore her, but then I start feeling guilty. I mean, I can get up and go pee whenever I want to…

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    August 1, 2009 1:42 pm

    Side note, I often come across this blog that I think you would really enjoy: runeatrepeat.com

  3. Brandy permalink
    August 2, 2009 9:29 pm

    It was a fun day!!! Can't wait to do it again!

Leave a Reply

