Skip to content

Errands, a place to hold our bananas, and dinner

August 23, 2009

I am officially finished with my back to school shopping! Okay, I’m never really “finished” per se, but I feel good about the clothes that I have in my closet and even better about the clothes that I have getting altered (hello 1 in. smaller waist in a few of my pants!).

While I was out shopping I was excited to see that they opened the Under Armour store at the outlet mall. For whatever reason I really like the way that UA stuff fits and supports and their “cotton like” shirts are really the best at pulling away sweat and keeping me cool (as cool as possible when the temperature is in the 90’s with 90-something percent humidity!). I swear by them! So when I walked into the store and was greeted by a table full of them in all kinds of beautiful colors AND they had a price of $14.99 instead of $19.99 you know I had to pick up two! Yea! I hit up a few stores before heading back home, but not before making a quick run to Publix for a few essentials that they didn’t have at WF or the Publix that we went to last night.

While I was in Publix I decided to grab a snack and decided on a Carrot Juice Odwalla. I’d never really had carrot juice since Carl usually adds apples to it on the rare occasion that he busts out the juicer.

I’m not really sure how I felt about it…it tasted really carrott-y.
Go figure since the only ingredient is carrots, haha!

When I got home I got another load of laundry started (it never ends!) and then got to work on the whole reason I went to Publix this time – to give our bananas a home. Currently they live on our counter but I noticed that they’ve been getting bruises on the bottoms as they get really ripe (just like I love them!).

We used to have a banana hanger but it broke and I didn’t really think it was useful until I realized why our bananas were getting all gross.

I pulled out the parts, grabbed a screw driver, and a few minutes later our bananas have a new home!

When Carl got home we decided to heat up left overs of Grandpa’s Spaghetti. In an effort to continue eating more veggies I requested a salad on the side. I also had more unsweet Honest Tea since I bought a jug of it at Whole Foods.

The salad included spinach, Boar’s Head chicken lunch meat, tomatoes, corn, feta cheese and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar and rice wine vinegar. Unfortunately I couldn’t resist a second helping of Grandpa’s Spaghetti, along with a few slices of bread (!!) but I forgot to take a picture. Convenient, no? đŸ™‚

I’ve been thinking about how I was going to post breakfast and lunch now that I’m going back to work and won’t be able to really take pictures and post when I eat them like I do now. I figured that I would have to take pictures of my morning snack and lunch as I pack it and then I can take pictures of my afternoon snack when I eat it since it’s usually after school.

I hope you all have a great week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tony permalink
    August 24, 2009 8:32 pm

    I never thought about the banana tree. Thanks. By the way I've been reading some of your older posts and I love the food choices on the blog. My biggest problem with my training is my nutrition. Italian households are anti athlete nutrition.

Leave a Reply

