Skip to content

Too much food!

August 23, 2009

After deciding to have “Grandpa’s Spaghetti”, an old family recipe on Carl’s side, we meal planned for the rest of the week since it’s going to be a hectic one and headed off to the grocery store. I LOVE the Publix down by my work because it’s giant, new, and has a lot of Organic options right there next to the regular stuff in the aisle. Because it is close to my school I wondered how many students I would see…and the grand total was 4 by the time we left. Not too bad, but it’s always always little weird seeing them out in public.

By the time we got home Carl and I were pretty hungry so we decided to bust into the bread that we bought to go with dinner…and you can clearly see where this is headed…

Slice 1 of too many to count!
Oh yes, that is butter on there!

My wonderful husband cooking dinner

Yeeees…just a “bit” of the cheese that went into this deliciously cheesy dinner

I just couldn’t control myself! Yum!

My bowl. Don’t be fooled, I had one more of these with bread on the side!

Unpictured was the dessert that we had – we each split a black and white cookie (softest cookie EVER with chocolate and vanilla frosting on it!) and a cookie sandwich (two cookies with frosting between them). Holy goodness! Everything was really yummy, but great scott we ate too much!

One thing that I really love about this blog is that it makes me realize just what is going into my mouth at any given time. Sure it takes a while to take pictures and then blog about it later but I learn so much about the foods that I gravitate to and how I need to incorporate different foods into my diet (diet = what I eat, not what I restrict myself to have). I’ve really noticed that I need to eat more veggies. We are champs at eating onions and peppers, but I really want to incorporate more variety and eat other veggies on a regular basis.

Needless to say I woke up this morning with a bit of a sore tummy and really wanted something light for breakfast. After much deliberation I decided on a Publix whole grain waffle (last one!) with some Oikos, blueberries and strawberries. I also had my first experience with flax, which I’ve read about on other blogs and through Amy, and overall thought it was fine. I probably went a little easy on it, but to be honest I didn’t even know it was there!

Carl has orientation at his school today so he’s putting in a normal work day. He’s been doing a great job of getting up when his alarm goes off and getting into work early so I think he’s feeling a lot less stressed. Today I have laundry and vacuuming on the to-do list, as well as a trip to Whole Foods for some odds and ends. I also may or may not hit up the outlets for a few last minute deals on school clothes. I’m so excited for school to start up tomorrow! I think that my favorite time of the school year is the beginning, even though it’s difficult to remember all of the names and get used to being back on a schedule. I love starting fresh and even though every year has its challenges I’m really excited to try new things to see how they work too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    August 23, 2009 1:18 pm

    Yeah for a nice, new Publix. I used to have one of those, but when I moved in with Matt I started going to the closest one. It's not bad (it is a Publix), but it's smaller, I notice not as many organic choices, no Apron Meals lady/guy and I have to run over little old ladies constantly.

    Ha, I made waffles for breakfast too (We eat the Kashi Go Lean – Blueberry), except I burnt them big time and we had to eat cereal instead. LOL – I really burnt frozen waffles! I should not be allowed in the kitchen!

Trackbacks

  1. Pre-Christmas adventures « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

