Skip to content

Quick eats

August 30, 2009

Although Carl and I were both hungry for dinner neither one of us were up to cooking something complicated and we didn’t want to go out so I suggested some Annie’s mac and cheese with broccoli. Carl really wanted hot dogs so he cooked some of those up on the stove along with sauerkraut.

We polished off our last cupcake, red velvet, and it was so worth it! I’m glad that Carl and I shared all of the cupcakes because instead of eating four we really only ate two of them over two days. Makes me feel a little better 🙂

This morning was Carl’s turn to get up at o’dark hundred to go kayaking and after he was up and moving I couldn’t fall back to sleep so I ended up getting out of bed between 5:30-6am. Not ideal for sleeping in during the weekend, but it was sleeping in compared to my 4am wake up call yesterday morning!

I worked on some lessons for this week and started on the laundry so it ended up being a really productive morning and I was glad to get it out of the way so I wouldn’t have to do it tonight. I waited until almost 9am for breakfast because I wasn’t feeling super hungry and decided to have a bowl of cereal (the last of the Special K!) and threw in some granola, raisins and a banana with plain oat milk. Of course there was coffee too!

Carl called while he was on his way home to see if I wanted to have him pick up Cruisers, one of our favorite places to eat, and of course I said yes! I got the “Big Salad” with marinated chicken. Yum!

He was craving fried mushrooms so he got some of those along with a “Big Salad”. At first I didn’t want any, but they looked so GOOD that I made the mistake of having one and managed to eat more than my fair share of these little things.

I’m totally one of those people that can resist something if I don’t have a taste. If I can stay away from the first bite I’m usually good, but once I take it I usually want more. I need to remember something that they always talk about in Weight Watchers meetings: “The first bite tastes the same as the last”. But so do all the bites in between, lol! All well, I’m not going to let indulging in a little bit of fried goodness ruin my day.

How do you resist tempting foods? Do you just give in and have a bite or are you better off not even eating it at all?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    August 30, 2009 4:28 pm

    We don't keep any junk in the house except occasionally a bag of chips.

    That way when we want a treat it's a conscious decision and we have to go out and get it…and yes, we'll eat the whole thing.

    Matt's worse about eating the whole thing but better about not having it around. That makes me feel guilty if I bring junk in the house which is actually benefitial too.

  2. Paige@ Running Around Normal permalink
    August 30, 2009 9:14 pm

    MMM that cupcake looks awesome! I usually give in to temptations, because if I don't, it'll drive me crazy!

Leave a Reply

