Skip to content

Hungry, Hungry!

August 31, 2009

Although I love Sunday naps they sometimes keep me up later than I should be going to bed to be ready to get up super early on Monday morning. It wasn’t too late, but 10pm is a bit later than I should be going to sleep to get up and ready for work at 5:30am since it takes me forever to get moving when I wake up.

Since I didn’t eat a “real” dinner last night I was pretty hungry so I decided on oatmeal for breakfast. We were out of fruit so I settled on oatmeal with 2/3 c. oat milk, raisins and a drizzle of almond butter and agave.

Mondays and Tuesdays are our “block” days at school, so today I saw my odd numbered classes (1,3,5) and tomorrow I’ll see my even numbered classes (2,4,6). I LOVE BLOCK DAYS! They work out really well for science class AND I don’t have to plan for tomorrow because I already did my lesson with one set of classes today! Wednesdays are our 1 hour early release days (so we get out at 1pm instead of 2pm) so out classes are shorter and then Thursday/Friday are “traditional” 50 minute classes. I wish we would go full “block”, but there are some teachers at my school who don’t like it so I doubt that we’ll ever go that route.

For lunch I ended up eating the veggies that I didn’t eat last night. Unfortunately I didn’t pack enough food so I left work earlier than usual (4pm) and made a run to Publix to get a sub and some Sun Chips. Needless to say that ended up being my dinner and I was so hungry on my way home that I was scarfing it down in the car – I HATE eating in the car! I totally learned my lesson on being prepared with enough snacks and since it’s the beginning of the year I didn’t have any at school yet. I’ll be fixing that tomorrow!

What are some of you go-to foods when you’re at work or on the go?

One Comment leave one →
  1. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:25 pm

    I keep apples in the fridge at work because they last forever*

    I keep a box of some sort of snack bar in my cabinent in the planning room. Currently it is Clif Bar Mini's (100 cal) and last week it was Cascadian Farms granola. Botht the Clif and Luna Bar mini's are great because there's 18 in box so they seem to last longer (although I don't really know how the $ compares to box of granola bars)

    We also have a lot of community food like peanut butter and tea and sometimes breads. People are usually really nice about sharing food too. We have a very food orientated planning room, both in design and supplies. If we didn't have these I'd have more stashed in my cabinent.

    I've learned it's better to always have lots available to avoid the 4:00 binge and to always have something sweet but filling (like apples and clif bars) to take that edge off when I get stressed.

Leave a Reply

