Skip to content

Comfort food and "short" long runs

September 6, 2009

To celebrate the end of the week Carl and I went to our favorite restaurant downtown, Casa Maya, just like last week. I swear months will go by and we don’t go and then we go several times in a row. By the time we got there it was dark and the lighting was a little funny so the pictures are kinda orange looking, but you get the idea.

Enjoying the evening
We started off with super yummy guacamole – I just can’t get enough of this stuff!

Although I wanted to get the Ropa Vieja again, they were out so I settled on the Carne Asada instead. Holy yum! It was served with brown rice, onions, veggies and plantains. I ate about 1/2 of it and decided to save room for dessert – and then left the box of leftovers at the restaurant! Boo!

Carl had chicken in a chipotle peanut sauce with brown rice, veggies and plantains. It was really yummy and had just a little bit of a “bite” to it. It was a special, so if they have it again I’d love to have it.

Dessert was mango pie made with real mangos topped with raspberry sauce (super yum!) and Carl had a tulum (pb, frozen banana, vanilla soy milk, honey) but the picture came out too blurry.

I got super tired after dinner so instead of walking around we just headed home. I was kind of glad because I had to get up at 5:30am in the morning to meet a woman that I work with, Lynn, for an 8 mile run over the Palm Valley Bridge. I’m really enjoying running with people and hope that the next few weeks include more “group” runs. It was also nice to have a “long” run under 10 miles! It’s been quite some time, maybe three weeks?, so I enjoyed sleeping in a little bit since I usually wake up at 4am on Saturdays! Oh I can’t wait until training is OVER!

Before I left the house I had a sandwich thin with 1 tbs. almond butter and 1 tbs. apple butter with half of a banana. I really think that is a great combo for runs over 5-6 miles.

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture with her after the run, but we had a really great time. She talked and I listened and the two hours went by pretty quickly. We ran at a nice, comfortable pace and I got to see different parts of a new development that is being built including a Publix and what looked like either a Super Walmart or Costco/Sam’s/BJs.

We hit the bridge at the very beginning of the run and at the very end, and even though I was tired I really pushed and ran up the whole way. While Vilano is longer, Palm Valley is certainly steeper and Lynn and I were surprised at how quickly we could feel the burn in our calves.

On the way home I had a peanut butter Z-Bar and when I got home I ate the other half of the banana from the morning. I don’t know what it was, but I was STARVING! I think I was even hungrier than I am after my super long runs – go figure! Since Carl was out kayaking I made my own breakfast, so happy not to have to take an ice bath, of potatoes and eggs with sauteed mushrooms and onions.

After breakfast I took a shower and a nice, long nap! I love my Saturday (and Sunday!) naps. When I woke up Carl and I went to Moe’s and since I was still feeling a little dehydrated (darn humidity!) I decided to have a passion fruit flavored coconut water. When I first tried coconut water I didn’t really like it, but I’m totally hooked now! I do think I like the flavored ones over the plain, though.

Stats:
Distance – 8.00 miles
Time – 1:51:34
Pace – 13:57’/mile (2:30 run/1 walk)
Best pace – 10:34’/mile
One Comment leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    September 6, 2009 9:13 pm

    MMM… the food looks yummy! And nice work on the shorter long run! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

