Skip to content

Bring it!

September 12, 2009

I was thisclose to shutting the alarm off and going back to sleep when it buzzed for me to get up at 6am. I “only” had a long run of 10 miles today, but I just couldn’t think about getting out there and going for a run. Work has been great but exhausting, as you can tell from my lack of posting Wed. – Friday. I couldn’t even think about loading up my Camelbak, strapping it on and heading out for a three hour run. I just couldn’t. So I compromised and decided to use my handheld filled with 1/2 packet of G2 (the purple kind, of course!) and that I would run 5 today and 5 either later tonight or tomorrow morning over the Palm Valley Bridge. I ate half of a Clif Bar and was on my way.

My warm-up walk was SLOW and I had to remind myself that I wasn’t running a race, and even if I was, I was running for ME. When I got to my normal running spot I started up the Garmin and off I went. I can’t even remember the last time I went for a run and enjoyed it. I’m really excited about our girls trip to San Francisco, but I’m even more excited for the marathon training to be over. Today I was just proud that I got out of bed and made it out of the house so I refused to do anything but enjoy my time running – and I did! I left around 7am I was a little surprised at how many cars were out on the road. I decided to do my run in the neighborhood close to mine, rather than the route that I do my usual long runs, and it was lovely. I know we don’t really get “fall” here in Florida, but at one point I looked over in the woods and could see lovely red and burnt orange leaves on the tree. Yea! I so wish I had my camera, but it really cheered me up and once again reminded me to enjoy my time outside.

Around mile 3 I took a TriBerry flavored GU and felt so much better! I’m not sure if it was because of the nutrients from the GU or the fact that my body is used to longer runs so the endorphins kick in around that time, but I really think the last half of my run felt much better than the first half. When it was time to decide between taking the short-cut or the longer route to finish up my run I decided to go the longer route and knock out more mileage today so tomorrow’s run wouldn’t be as long and I’m glad that I did. Instead of running 5 miles I did 5.73 and really pushed the last .73 miles. Go me! I finished breathing pretty darn hard but feeling really great. I’m really glad that I got out of bed this morning for my run after all!

Stats:
Distance –
5.73
Time –
1:15:58
Pace –
13:13’/mi (2:30 run/1 walk)
Best pace –
8:11’/mi (!!)

While I was on my run I was also able to think and reflect on some things that have been going on this week that I’ve really been struggling with. I came to the realization that people don’t do things for the same reason – and that’s okay. I also came to the realization that running, for the most part, is truly NOT a team sport. It’s very individual and while some people enjoy running for the competition of it, I really don’t. I run in races because it’s fun to challenge myself, not because I want to beat someone else. Right now I know there is no way that I can keep up with some people (heck, I can’t even run a 10 min. mile!) but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to continue to improve for myself.

People run for all kinds of different reasons. I run because I love the way it makes me feel when I put on my running shoes, even when I’m running the worst run ever. I love how I feel when the run is over, even when it hurts to move. I feel strong and blessed that I can run. I love how running has taken me from a size 18 (did I really just write that for everyone to see?!) to a size 12/14 and from a size XL shirt to a S/M. Even more importantly I love how running has allowed me to become healthier and have normal blood pressure again – and I may even be able to go off of my blood pressure medicine soon! So if all of these things make me “one of those people” then bring it because I LOVE RUNNING!

Why do you run? Do you really love it or do you just see it as a way to be healthy/maintain weight/lose weight?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilary permalink
    September 12, 2009 2:40 pm

    You should be proud to love running! It makes you one of the few that will sacrifice sleep and days off to attempt a new challenge or distance. Yay! (PS I wish a little bit of your love of running would rub off on me.)

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    September 12, 2009 3:52 pm

    I'm so happy you had feel-good run. Remember how I was having the same problem a couple weeks ago?

    I also love your reasons for running, they almost made me cry since I'm so proud of you! Don't we all run for "all the above"? Everyone has reasons that are stronger than others, but I think in the end, since one can feel so different on different days, everybody has several reasons they run.

Trackbacks

  1. One year « From 5k to Marathon
  2. Running for me « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

