Skip to content

September 13, 2009

Since it was so rainy last night I was secretly hoping that it would still be pouring this morning so I wouldn’t be able to go for a run. The only reason I was even remotely excited about it was because I was meeting my friend Kristin at the Palm Valley Bridge at 7am. Before I left I had half of a chocolate chip Clif Bar (my favorite!)

When she got there we both talked about how we were tired, wondering if it was going to rain and amazed that neither one of us would call to cancel. I’m glad that we rallied and the weather held because it was a lot of fun running together! I’m not going to lie, there was a tremendous amount of walking today since we were both a little tired from our runs yesterday (Kristin did 8.5 miles!), but it was so nice to take it easy during our walk breaks. I also think I got worn out because while we were running I was trying to run at a much faster pace because Kristin is so speedy! I was still going slower than her usual pace, but I think it was a good compromise since we both just wanted to be out there to get the distance. I’m so thankful that it wasn’t sunny because it was humid as anything and the sweat was literally dripping off us both! We tackled the bridge on our way back and both really pushed on our way up. I was breathing so hard poor Kristin had to ask if I was okay, lol!

When I got into my car and looked at the stats for the run I thought it was funny that our pace was my normal, easy pace for a run (right around 13:30-14:00) despite all of our walking. I knew I was really pushing it while we were running, lol! I also realized that even though I was tired from my almost 6 mile run yesterday, my body didn’t feel at all like it normally does when I run 10 miles straight. I’ve always heard that if you do two runs within 24 hours it’s like doing one long run, but I don’t know that I buy it.

I was starving when I got home and after unloading the dishwasher I decided on some oatmeal with 1/2 c. oat milk, a mashed banana and 1 tbs. Smart Balance PB. Yum! I also decided to ice my coffee since I was still pretty hot from our run.

This afternoon is filled with errands and getting ready for the week – and of course a Sunday afternoon nap 🙂

Today’s Stats:
Distance –
4.19 miles
Time – 57:05
Pace – 13:38’/mile (no set run/walk)
Best pace – 9:42’/mile

2 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherwoman permalink
    September 13, 2009 1:23 pm

    Nice job on the run! it's always nice to run with someone else!

  2. FLYERS26 permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:09 pm

    Nice job on the 2 runs.
    My fav cliff bar, is the Peanut Butter Crunch.

Leave a Reply

