Skip to content

Back to work but thanks goodness it’s Friday!

September 23, 2009

We have been going to bed before 9pm for the last three nights so we’ve been getting LOTS of rest, although I’m still not jumping out of bed when my alarm goes off. I’m not a morning person at all, so I’m chalking it up to that more than anything, lol!

For breakfast this morning I had more of the Kashi hot cereal. This time I added the recommended amount of oat milk (2/3 c.) and thought it was just too thin. I do have some food texture issues, though, so I think that the seeds that are in the cereal are just too much when the rest of it is “mushy”. I’m thinking the next time I make it I’ll try adding apples or something with more crunch to offset the crunch of the seeds. As of right now I’m not super excited about it, but since I have a whole box of it left and only one more packet of oatmeal, you’ll be seeing it again.

You know I had to add a dab of almond butter!

Apparently I’m on a “eat everything that’s not super healthy” kick so for lunch instead of having the yummy, healthy lunch I packed, I was sucked into having a piece of pizza with oven fries and cheese sauce from the school cafeteria. Ugh!

I signed up for a 5K a few weeks ago and realized on Wednesday that it was this weekend. I wasn’t sure until yesterday if I’d be doing it, but since I feel pretty well and was cleared by my doctor to run unless I have a fever (which I’ve never had with this cold) I figured I’d go ahead and do the run. I’m actually very excited about the race, called Pink Up the Pace, since it was founded by a local woman who was diagnosed with breast cancer this past January. The race goes through downtown St. Augustine and along the bay front and should be a lovely race. Since Carl isn’t running the race he is going to be the designated paparazzi for the day and hopefully he’ll get some good shots of the race and the location.

Dinner tonight was at Carrabba’s and unfortunately it was so dark I couldn’t take any pictures. I can tell you that copious amounts of food was eaten including bread, a giant bowl of their spicy chicken soup and a half portion of the best thing in the world – mezzaluna! Yum!

When we got home I had Carl take my picture with my race number in traditional race-eve fashion.

I was sure to pack extra tissues with my stuff so fingers crossed that I don’t end up with snot on my face, lol! Wish me luck!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    September 25, 2009 11:46 pm

    Good luck in your race!

  2. whatissharondoingnow permalink
    September 26, 2009 12:05 pm

    I TRY to go to bed BEFORE 9, and I can't get up in the morning. I've even done a few 8 o'clock's during this training! May I never run a FULL marathon again!

Leave a comment