Skip to content

Good eats

September 27, 2009

When I woke up from my nap I was totally craving Moe’s – oh how I love that place! Carl suggested we make our own less expensive, healthier version and I begrudgingly agreed. We scrounged around in the pantry and fridge for some nacho items when I realized that I wanted to make the crustless pumpkin pie that I had at Hilary’s Sunday Supper two weeks ago. We had nearly everything except whipped cream, so off Carl went to the grocery store while my concoction cooked in the crockpot.

While he was at the store, Carl decided to get some Tostito’s for our nachos and I have to admit that I was a little disappointed that he got the regular ones – not even the multigrain. Ah well. I sucked it up was thankful that he went to the store at all 🙂


I put my nachos on a small plate to keep myself from eating too much at one time and I was fairly successful – only fairly because I did go back for a second smaller plate. Even so I was happy that I didn’t load up my plate like Carl…although he is a growing boy, lol!

The nachos had refried beans, black beans, onions, black olives, Publix organic salsa, light sour cream and we split a 100 calorie package of Wholly Guacamole.

Although Carl bought whipped cream at the store, he also bought some heavy cream because he wanted to make his own! I love how my hubby enjoys cooking! Let me tell you, this stuff was AMAZING!! We’ll never buy store bought whipped cream again!

Even Bradley wanted some 🙂

Our dessert came out really well too, although I do think Hilary’s recipe was a bit better than the tweeks that I made with the ingredients that we had here.

Yum! Oh how I love fall.

I have a plan to hopefully blog more this week so fingers crossed that I can pull it off 🙂 I hope you all have a great week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

