Skip to content

Three weeks from today…

September 27, 2009

…I will be in San Francisco running in the Nike Women’s Marathon! Holy goodness I can’t believe how close we are! It feels like just yesterday that I found out that our group of seven ladies had been randomly selected to participate and “run like a girl”. I also started my blog shortly after our confirmation email, both occurring a mere three months after I started running!

While a lot of training programs had this week as the “peak week” in training, with runs somewhere in the 20 mile range, mine was last week and I missed it because I was sick. While I felt great during yesterday’s 5K and still feel pretty good today, I just didn’t think it would be worth it to try and make up the distance. I still feel confident that this was the right decision, but it doesn’t mean that I’m not just a little nervous that my longest run will only have been 18 miles – which was nearly two months before I will run the marathon. Sharon sent me an excellent article from Runner’s World titled The Monster Month that helped calm me a little bit, but I can’t help in wondering if the article was really meant for people who still have a higher fitness level than I do. I guess only time will tell…

Today is an “eat things in the fridge before they go bad” kind of day so I started off with a scrambled egg with cheese over sweet potatoes, red peppers and onions from earlier this week. I was also craving carbs so I decided to use half of a mini-loaf of the bread that we got from Costco and froze, although I only ate one half. I think my favorite part of breakfast was the Pumpkin Spice coffee that we got from Fresh Market yesterday. Oh so good!

My artistic shot for the day

Carl decided to go kayaking this morning so when he got home he fixed lunch but I just had a snack; my first honeycrisp apple! So yummy – sweet and crunchy!

I decided to cut it up and drizzle some almond butter on it (of course!), but only ended up eating half and gave the rest to Carl.

Eventually I did get hungry and made a shredded chicken sandwich from the rotisserie chicken we got from Fresh Market yesterday. Carl went ahead and pulled the meat off and we’re actually making our own chicken stock with it! I’ve never made it before, but it sure smells fantastic!

On my sandwich I had chicken, homemade red pepper hummus, Wholly Guacamole, and spinach. On the side I had some left over Alexia sweet potato fries and waffle fries (my favorite!) and some remaining Wholly Guacamole that I didn’t put on my sandwich.

I stayed up a little later than I should have last night so I’m feeling tired so a Sunday nap is definitely in order. See you all for dinner!
One Comment leave one →
  1. sam permalink
    September 27, 2009 4:15 pm

    i am now going to try and hunt down pumpkin spice coffee. it seems like the perfect drink for fall!

Leave a Reply

