Skip to content

Sucktastic run

September 28, 2009

I loved my pumpkin oats this morning so much that I really wish I had more for breakfast tomorrow. I guess I can try it with the Kashi hot cereal and see if that helps me enjoy it a little more.

Since I usually have a difficult time blogging during the week I decided to take pictures of my lunch while I pack it at night. Yes, I know that I’ve tried this before but this time I’m going to try and consistently do it all week.

Pictures of my lunch to-go style
Snack #1 was a string cheese and V8 that I had stocked in my fridge at work

For lunch I had the rice and beans SmartOne (already at work so not in the picture) along with some Tostitos (gotta eat them up!), Publix organic salsa and a 100 cal. package of Wholly Guacamole – I love that stuff!

Snack #2 – Grapes from Fresh Market while I was grading papers after school. These things were super sweet and totally hit the spot.

When I got home I was not in the mood for a run, but I read some blogs and got inspired so off I went to change and out the door I went! The run started off really well and I was enjoying the not so hot (although nowhere near fall) weather and the music that I was listening to on my iPod. When I run I usually wear capris but since it was still a little warm out I decided to go with my running shorts – and when I wear them I usually put a pair of tight shorts on under them. I’m sure you can imagine where this is going at this point…

A few minutes into the run I noticed that my tight shorts were totally riding up into no-man’s-land and I had to keep pulling them down. I’ve worn these shorts many times on runs before and it’s never happened so I was surprised and very frustrated that they were giving me trouble tonight. It was awful! I didn’t want to run in the first place and I was so proud of myself for getting out there and then I had to fight with my darn shorts. Ugh! I went about half a mile and nearly turned around before I told myself to keep going. I was supposed to run five miles tonight I guess I should be thankful that I went two miles – tugging and pulling nearly the entire time. Never again! The really sucky thing is that I think that my run would have been fantastic had I worn something else. Ah well.

When I got home I had a headache so I had some watered down Gatorade and munched on handfuls of Annie’s chocolate chip bunnies and some PB filled pretzels from Fresh Market (x2)

For dinner tonight Carl made baked ziti and it was delish!
I’m not going to lie, I had more than one bowl of this along with some garlic bread.

Ironically I’m not even really full, but I decided that dessert is out for me tonight.

Today’s stats:
Distance – 2 miles
Time – 23:28 minutes
Pace – 11:44’/mi (2:30 run/1:00 walk)
Best pace – 7:11’/mi

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:53 pm

    Ha ha, I can totally relate. I went for a run last Saturday and I was thinking that I would go farther than I had planned. That is until I glanced down at my front and saw that I had two sweat spots on my chest. Needless to say I was mortified and went straight home all the while I was pulling up my top a little so the spots wouldn't be directly over the girls. Kudos to you for even trying.

  2. Kelly permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:41 am

    Okay I know you were fighting your outfit the whole time, but check out that pace chicka! Very good! I'm proud you went out and did two miles. Now, wear something else tomorrow and do it again! 😀

  3. tri_al permalink
    September 29, 2009 5:31 am

    ahaha i hate the disappearing shorts! nothing looks worse… actually, a few things do but this is pretty bad 🙂

  4. teacherwoman permalink
    September 29, 2009 7:10 pm

    Nice job on the run, despite the challenges with the shorts! 🙂

    BTW, I posted something for you on my post this evening… check it out !:)

  5. Kelly permalink
    September 29, 2009 8:58 pm

    I just found your blog through teacherwoman 🙂 Looks great! Sorry about the bad run, better now than during the marathon right?

Leave a Reply

