Skip to content

Not your normal mac and cheese

October 4, 2009

After breakfast I decided to take a nap that was apparently much needed since I slept for nearly two hours!  I thought since I slept in this morning that I’d be okay without a nap today but I guess my body still needs to catch up on sleep from the week.  I’m going to make more of an effort to go to bed earlier (like be in bed by 9pm!) so that I get enough rest during the week to have strong runs for these two weeks before the marathon.

I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty darn sore from my eight mile run earlier this morning!  I asked Carl, “If I’m this sore now, how am I going to feel after the marathon?”  He just looked at me, thought very carefully and said, “Oh you’re going to be sore!” – totally made me laugh 🙂

After I woke up I was starving since it was nearly 3:30pm so I had a handful of PB pretzels from Fresh Market.  Okay, I had a few handfuls.  I swear I will be so glad once these things are out of the house!

IMG_3294

Although we went to Costco yesterday we needed to make a run to Publix but I just wasn’t feeling it and neither was Carl.  We looked in our pantry and saw that we had a package of Annie’s Mac & Cheese left so we cooked it up.  Carl wanted to add weird things to it (baked beans?!) but I suggested zucchini, green bell pepper, onion, chick peas, tomato and some of the rotisserie chicken we had left over.  He wasn’t feeling the chick peas so I left them off of his mac and cheese but it was a nice addition to the meal and you could hardly taste them!  I wanted something sweet so I decided to add a side of grapes and used up the last of them from our trip to Fresh Market last weekend.  This is definitely not your normal mac and cheese – and I don’t think I’ll ever go back!

IMG_3296

Our lunch was a little heavier than I thought it would be so instead of having our planned dinner we opted for a bit of Southwestern Quiche from one of my old cookbooks.

IMG_3297

It contained:

  • 1 lb. ham
  • Eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. shredded cheese
  • 1/2 c. left over smoked gouda cheese from our BBQ chicken pizza Friday night
  • Salsa
  • Tortilla crust – neither of us liked this part, but I think it’s because I’m really not the biggest fan of La Tortilla Factory tortillas that we have

It was really good and will be a nice change in the mornings for breakfast.  I do wish it would looked nicer once it was plated but because this was the first slice out it fell apart.

.IMG_3298

I was still a little hungry after eating this slice so I decided to have a bowl of the Nature’s Path cereal that we bought from Costco yesterday mixed in with Kashi H2H and some soy milk.  It totally hit the spot!

IMG_3300

I was talking to Carl after we finished eating about how we needed to check the mail since I was expecting something (we aren’t always so great about checking our mail) and after he took out the trash he went to check it.  Look what I had waiting for me!  Yea!

IMG_3302

A few weeks ago Paige from Running Around Normal had a giveaway and I won!  Yea! When I opened the box there was a cute card from Paige and my loot – a banana keeper from Tupperware!

IMG_3304

Carl was excited about my Banana Keeper too!

IMG_3307

When I opened it there were two more surprises waiting for me…Larabars!IMG_3308

Thanks Paige! I can’t wait to use the banana keeper and to try the bars out. We’re out of bananas but I’m going to the store tomorrow so hopefully Tuesday I’ll be able to use it to transport my bananas to work without getting all bruised and gross 🙂

Bradley even was fascinated by it, too!  I’m not sure if he thought it was a toy or if he could smell Paige’s dog, Niko.  So cute!

IMG_3310

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 9:49 pm

    Oh how I miss the “good sore” from those long runs. sniff, sniff. lol. I guess until I can start running again, I will just have to get that good sore feeling from bodypump class!

    That banana saver looks cool.

  2. October 5, 2009 1:22 pm

    Yay for wordpress!!

Leave a Reply

