Skip to content

Two more weeks!

October 4, 2009

There are only TWO MORE WEEKS UNTIL THE NIKE WOMEN’S MARATHON!  I can hardly believe that it’s so soon and that my training (for this race) will be over.  I swear it feels like yesterday that we entered the lottery and then found out that our group had been selected for the marathon.  Wow!

My training plan started the “official” taper last week and today’s long run was only eight miles.  I’m not going to lie, those eight miles were difficult.  It’s easy to freak myself out and think “if today’s eight mile run was difficult, how am I going to be able to run another 18.2?!”  Honestly, I’m not going to go there. I have good runs and bad runs and must remember that not only is each run different, but each mile within a run is different.  I’ve prepared the best that I can these past few months, so it’s up to me to run my little heart out and make it across that finish line.

I was determined to sleep in today, so that at least one day this week I wasn’t taken out of my slumber by the obnoxious sound of my alarm clock.  I knew that I needed to run, but figured that I would just run later this afternoon, but like the amazing motivator he is, Carl talked me into going for my run to go ahead and get it out of the way.  Even though I didn’t want to go, I decided that it probably was the best idea and got my things together for the run.  While I was glad that I decided to get out for the run it was probably Mistake #1 because while it wasn’t hot out yet, it was going to be before I got back home since it was already 8am.

Before I left I had a bit of the Blueberry Crisp Clif bar I had left over from yesterday.  This was probably Mistake #2 – not eating enough before my run.

IMG_3290

I put together my Camelbak and around 8:30am I was out the door.  I had forgotten how “heavy” my Camelbak is when it’s full of water, and all of the other junk that I bring with me.  Sure, it’s only a few pounds on my back but I swear that it makes a difference between keeping a pace of 11:30’/mile and the 11:00’/mile that I’m shooting for while I’m running.  Mistake #3 was not doing more runs with my Camelbak to get used to the additional weight that it adds. For the next two weeks I’ll be doing all of my runs with it, even the short ones, to hopefully adjust to the difference.

Instead of taking the road that I usually do my long runs on, I decided to run in the neighborhood near mine.  By the time I got there I’d already gone just over a mile and a car passed me with their hand out the window giving me a “thumbs up”.  Such a great way to lift my spirits – and so much more appropriate than honking their horn.  I hate it when cars do that!  Before I reached the second mile I was sweating like a man because it was so humid out that I sat down on the sidewalk and poured the G2 powder into the Camelbak bladder.  I was so thankful that I had it with me because I was starting to feel nauseous from only drinking water (which is also why I got sick after I ran my 18 miler).  I realized that when I’ve been running with my handheld that I’ve been adding G2 to it – so Mistake #4 was forgetting that I need to add some kind of electrolyte to my water when I’m losing so much salt through my sweat.  I have Camelbak electrolyte tablets that I’m going to try to use on my next run because I know the G2 isn’t good for the Camelbak bladder because of the sugar it contains.

I also forgot that the neighborhood isn’t such a great place to do the “out and back” run because it’s not long enough.  I only hit three miles when I reached the end of the neighborhood – Mistake #5 – and because I really needed to hit four miles before I turned around I felt a little defeated  knowing that I’d have to find a way to make up the extra mile before I got back into my neighborhood.  Ugh.  I took a gel at mile four and it helped a bit, but when I turned around I just kept thinking how much I wanted to go home.  There were a few places that I could have cut my run short – and it was so tempting!  I had a talk with myself and decided that it just wasn’t worth it.   I will be exhausted during the marathon and no matter how much I will want to stop, I won’t be able to cut it short so there is no reason to cut one of my last long runs short, even if it’s just by a mile. It was hard, but I was so proud of myself for continuing on.

When I got home I had Carl take this picture of me, celebrating that I finished my run.
I just love the sweat pattern, haha!

Eight miles down!

Eight miles down!

I went to take a shower while Carl made breakfast and I was so excited by what I saw when I got downstairs!  Waffles from Hodgston Mills Insta-bake mix, cinnamon apples and eggs with cheese, onions and peppers.  Oh yum!

IMG_3292

IMG_3293

Today’s stats:
Distance –
8 miles
Time – 1:47:15
Pace –
13:25’/mi (2:30 run/1:00 walk)
Best pace –
8:32’/mi

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 4:03 pm

    Ironically I just had this “every run is different” conversation with a friend of mine on Friday. I mentioned how I wasn’t concerned about my 15 miler, but that I should be…and she was like “why should you be, doesn’t 15 sound easy after a 22?” and I was all like, “yes, it does, but I’ve learned through experience that you feel that way and then get out there and 10 miles later you think ’15 is long way to go!'” How humbling!

    We were also discussing how it never gets easier – how frustrating. She’s been a runner forever and even ran CC in college (I think on a scholarship?). Any day and any distance can be hard!

    Way to go on your 8 – that’s what I have next weekend and I can’t wait. I have my route all planned out (for about 3 weeks now).

    p.s. love the new blog and I can’t believe you even transferred everything over already.

  2. October 4, 2009 5:58 pm

    Love the new look! Great job on your 8!

Leave a Reply

